The price of the pursuit of FE... - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 12-30-2011, 10:56 PM   #1
Registered Member

The price of the pursuit of FE...

So, as many of you know, I drive a VX that is what I'd call "high profile." The modifications I've made to it to increase FE have made it stand out from the crowd in almost all situations. I'm okay with this, but sometimes the attention is not good.

Background:
I play music for a living. I drive to gigs with my gear in the VX, unload, play a set, and come out to my car to cool off/relax between sets.

I've had people drive beside me on two lane roads and rev their motor (most often while I'm EOCing!) because they think that I think I've built a "race car." That's easy to shrug off and it's usually pretty funny. I've had notes left on my car, one read, "your car is dope." I took it to mean they liked it, although I think they might have been being sarcastic. I've had people write in the dust/dirt on the glass not nice things like F** (not nice term for homosexuals), etc. Again, somewhat comical, no harm done. I've even see someone finish up peeing on my car (while very drunk, obviously) as I'm approaching it.

Tonight, however, was different. I was actually relaxing on a break listening to "Friday night jazz" on the local Public radio station. 4 or 5 guys came out of the bar to their truck. One of these guys decided to pee on my car.... with me in it! He didn't know I was there, obviously, but man, what nerve!
I got out, and said, "Can I help you?" He said no, and I asked him why he was peeing on my car. He told me he wasn't.
I was angry, but there were 4 or 5 of them and one of me. All of them were bigger than me. Not since high school have I had any desire to be physically violent with anyone...... I sure wanted to when that happened. Oh well, the only thing damaged was my pride. No permanent harm done to the car.