Tip for those with Autos - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2007, 01:26 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
DarbyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 376
Country: United States
Tip for those with Autos

If you don't want to keep turning the ignition off and on at traffic lights...do put the tranny into neutral. It takes more fuel to "load" the torque converter when it is in drive. My Jeep Liberty Diesel fuels at 15.6mm3 in drive and 6.3mm3 in neutral. With my diesel you can actually "feel" the difference while sitting still.

*mm3 is CFR (Calculated Fuel Rate)
__________________

__________________
2006 Jeep Liberty CRD...Founder of L.O.S.T.
OME 2.25" Lift w/ Toyo Open Country HTs 235/75/16s
ASFIR Alum Eng/Tranny/Transfercase/Fuel Skids
2002 Air Box Mod...Air Tabs (5) on Roof...(3)each behind rear windows
Partial Grill Block with Custom Air Scoop and 3" Open Catback Exhaust
Lambretta UNO150cc 4 Stroke Scooter



DarbyWalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 01:46 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
bones33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 180
Country: United States
Our 02 Honda Odyssey registers .5gph in D at a stop and .4gph in N at a stop according to the Scan Gauge. Not much difference, but it's sumpin'.
__________________

bones33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 02:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Rick Rae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 240
Country: United States
The Cabrio uses about 0.3GPH idling, and I save roughly 10% of idle fuel if I drop it in neutral. Not much, but it all adds up!

Think of it this way: The tranny's in neutral and the engine's free-wheeling at some RPM. Drop it in drive with your foot on the brake. If RPMs stay the same, you're clearly burning more fuel to keep the RPMs up against the load of the immobilized car through the TC.

(Meaning it might not matter as much if the RPM drops when you put it in drive while idling. I think my first (carbed, non-ECU'd) car acted that way... I dunno if anything even remotely recent would, though.)

Rick
__________________
Rick Rae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 02:52 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
trebuchet03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 812
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to trebuchet03
Quote:
Originally Posted by beatr911 View Post
Our 02 Honda Odyssey registers .5gph in D at a stop and .4gph in N at a stop according to the Scan Gauge. Not much difference, but it's sumpin'.
Not much! That's a 20% increase in FE
__________________
Time is the best teacher. Unfortunately it kills all its students.


Bike Miles (Begin Aug. 20 - '07): ~433.2 miles

11/12
trebuchet03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 04:01 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Country: United States
Thanks for this post, I wasn't aware if the difference was at all noticeable, but I'll try doing this from now on and see how it goes.
ThirdeYe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 09:28 PM   #6
Stay true to the Game!
 
popimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 303
Country: United States
The scan gauge isn't always accurate. For example, I did a trip to California from Mississippi. On my first leg I was coasting with the engine on in N the first 2 legs of the trip. The SG2 reported that this method was yielding about 30mpg for the tank. When I filled it up I had only gotten 25 and 26 mpg. So in closing the only thing that matters is the amount of fuel consumed regardless of what a gauge might say.
__________________


popimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 10:57 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Minger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 98
Country: United States
popimp, have you calibrated yours? For the past few trips, my scanguage has been pretty accurate.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by theclencher View Post
P.S. I must be a wierdo as I think just because a guy can afford to do something, doesn't mean he should. I can afford to buy 100 gallons of gas several times a month, pour it on the ground, light it (or not)... but I don't think I should.
GasSavers_Minger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 12:23 AM   #8
Stay true to the Game!
 
popimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 303
Country: United States
Yes it's been calibrated. It reports high only when I use the Neutral engine on coasting. If I don't Neutral coast the SG2 is on the money.
__________________


popimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 09:36 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
trebuchet03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 812
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to trebuchet03
Quote:
Originally Posted by popimp View Post
Yes it's been calibrated. It reports high only when I use the Neutral engine on coasting. If I don't Neutral coast the SG2 is on the money.
I have the same issue too... Even with the engine off - ignition on, the SG reads .3gph
__________________
Time is the best teacher. Unfortunately it kills all its students.


Bike Miles (Begin Aug. 20 - '07): ~433.2 miles

11/12
trebuchet03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 02:00 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 244
Country: United States
Does the same go for carb'd engines or just EFI? I don't see how it'd work on a carb, but you never know...
__________________

__________________
'67 Mustang - out of commission after an accident
'00 Echo - DD
'11 Kia Rio - Wife's DD
'09 Harley Nightster - 48mpg and 1/4 miles in the 12's
jcp123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to break out drivetrains Carphunter Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 12-21-2016 06:05 AM
Question on fuel cutoff during coast Rick Rae General Fuel Topics 3 08-20-2007 08:19 PM
Old subject rehashed, cylinder disabling Fourthbean General Fuel Topics 6 04-17-2007 09:20 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.