Tune up Time for the Vibe - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2012, 02:24 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
bowtieguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,873
Country: United States
Location: orlando, florida
Re: Tune up Time for the Vibe

the oil in the k&n may clog your intake air sensor. just buy a cheap paper one...http://www.autoparts123.com/ShopByVe...=True&rewrite=

the $6+ are just as good as the $15-$20 at your local chain store!
__________________

bowtieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:29 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
Location: north east PA
Re: Tune up Time for the Vibe

Quote:
Originally Posted by goofy1 View Post
I'm thinking about getting an K&N filter. Not so much for more power/mpg but more of that i don't have to keep replacing the air filters. Do you all think they're worth $$.
Depends, how often do you change the filter now? I have one for the Sable, but the wife doesn't drive enough miles to justify the time of cleaning and oiling it every year. It's back to paper now that the filter oil is used up.

I once tried a Fram washable filter. The seams at the end of the pleats started to fail after the first wash. Could have gotten the lemon, but Wal-mart was no longer carrying the line when I returned it. There may be other options out there for washables.
__________________

trollbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 10:26 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
IndyFetch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 627
Country: United States
Location: Indianapolis
Re: Tune up Time for the Vibe

I've been using K&N filters for years and I have never had problems with the sensors
IndyFetch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 03:01 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
Location: north east PA
Re: Tune up Time for the Vibe

As long as you take the time to oil the filter properly, you shouldn't have a problem.
trollbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 09:20 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
goofy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 169
Country: United States
Re: Tune up Time for the Vibe

got the allignment and belt replaced. They said that the c. convertor has failed. They want to put a universal one on, but is that a good idea? or should I get a OEM?
__________________
"But Doc, we dont' have enough road to get it up to 88 miles per hour"
goofy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 02:13 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
bowtieguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,873
Country: United States
Location: orlando, florida
Re: Tune up Time for the Vibe

OEM is pricey...ive never had problems with universals
__________________

bowtieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine size?! DuckFeet Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 04-25-2012 10:58 PM
Help...MPG calculator not working djquik1 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 10-18-2010 05:57 AM
eBay: 1982 Ford pickup Electravan MetroMPG Electric and Solar powered 2 06-24-2007 07:34 PM
Diesels are very efficent at idle? philmcneal Diesels 36 04-05-2007 07:25 PM
How far do you drive daily? OdieTurbo General Fuel Topics 56 03-31-2007 02:49 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.