Where can I buy LED's for my car? - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 09-20-2009, 06:19 PM   #1
Banned

Where can I buy LED's for my car?

I'd like a local store that sells them, so i can drive there and pick them up not a ordering online kind of guy, although i have found them on EBAY, but thats it, is there any good websites or local parts stores anyone can recommend?

spotaneagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 06:28 PM   #2
Registered Member

superbrightleds.com is one that others have cited before. i have no experience with them.

also of note is that sometimes the electrical draw isn't high enough and the car thinks that the bulb is blown so you have to put a load resistor with the diodes. this would negate any gains you might see. I think this is just with newer cars.

I would be weary of ebay unless it is an ebay store. there are too many people with a soldering iron and a digital camera that sell pure junk. definitely check feedback.

GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 06:37 PM   #3
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to dkjones96
Where do you live? Autozone had them last time I looked but they may not have everything you are looking for.

+1 on the blinker note. You don't have to use a load resistor if a heavy duty flasher unit is installed in place of the stock one. They don't have the current sense stuff in them that makes your blinkers fast if a bulb is out so you don't need the load resistors.

This conversion is kinda like the home CFL comversion, you want to change out the lights that are used the most so blinkers aren't a good place to start anyways. Tail lights are a great place to start since a safety factor is also added when you go to LEDs(assuming they are as bright or brighter than the stock incandescent bulbs).
Old 09-20-2009, 07:55 PM   #4
Site Team / Moderator