Winter and MPG - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 11-07-2007, 03:14 PM   #1
Registered Member

Winter and MPG

I noticed this morning that it took my old taurus up to 5 miles before the torque convertor actually locked up in overdrive. It is getting colder , it was actually 16 degress F this morning. I turned the scanguage onto the intake temp and it read 29 degrees all the way to work. Is this why you guys are blocking off your grills ? What should the intake temp. be to get good mpg ?
I am new to this and the scanguage.
Thanks,
Raz

RazBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 03:31 PM   #2
Supporting Member

Good question. Every car has its "favorite temp" . The grill block helps in a few ways. First it blocks amount of air traveling through the engine compartment and then tumbling under the car as it exits. Second it keeps the drivetrain warmer. A grill block affect everycar's intake temps. On my saturn the airbox pickup tube was just behind the headlight. My saturn likes 170f and 90% humidity.

https://s75.photobucket.com/albums/i3...emysan/saturn/

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"for best mileage swap in a d15z1"
lovemysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 06:27 PM   #3
Registered Member

Send a message via MSN to baddog671
Lol, lately I've been able to get to my destination before the car gets to its normal operating temperature. Course its been snowing for the past 4 days.

Sucks though, I practically have no heat
Old 11-09-2007, 06:55 PM   #4
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to Hateful

my intake is next to the exhaust manifold. Not sure how hot that is but it was coming from under the car.
Hateful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 08:44 PM   #5
Registered Member