Anyone dis-connect power steering??? - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2007, 01:12 AM   #11
Supporting Member
 
cfg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,779
Country: United States
kickflipjr -

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickflipjr View Post
I recommend you search the forums at www.saturnfans.com I heard that you need a different idler pulley or something if you change belts.
Thanks for the info. That's another important detail I would need to know.

CarloSW2
__________________

__________________
Old School SW2 EPA ... New School Civic EPA :

What's your EPA MPG? http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 09:00 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Snax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 758
Country: United States
Yup, most likely you need to switch to a v-grooved tensioner vs. the smooth one it probably has now.
__________________

__________________
LiberalImage.com

I think, therefore I doubt.
Snax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 12:21 PM   #13
Supporting Member
 
cfg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,779
Country: United States
theclencher -

Quote:
Originally Posted by theclencher View Post
Looks like that top tensioner could disappear altogether on your proposal.
Yes, but wouldn't I need a custom belt in that case?

CarloSW2
__________________
Old School SW2 EPA ... New School Civic EPA :

What's your EPA MPG? http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 06:05 PM   #14
Tuggin at the surly bonds
 
Silveredwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 839
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snax View Post
Yup, most likely you need to switch to a v-grooved tensioner vs. the smooth one it probably has now.
Why is that? I've seen smooth tensioners set up both ways.
__________________
Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one. - Albert Einstein
Silveredwings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 03:33 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
bzipitidoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 112
Country: United States
We once drove 1000 miles with "Armstrong" steering in a '79 Ford Granada. That's about how far from home Las Vegas is, where the pump failed. Just put on a shorter belt. No problem driving on the highway. It's sharp turns at slow speeds that were a bit difficult.

That same trip, we also drove for about 100 miles without a functioning alternator, but as we were still 200 miles or so away when we realized the alternator had died, we couldn't make it, even with a charge. Service station charged $8 for that. So, swapped in a rebuilt alternator at an auto parts store when we were 25 miles away.

I'd heard some power steering equipped cars shouldn't be driven long distances with power steering disabled. Wish I could find the details on that again. May not fly during a safety inspection either.
bzipitidoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 07:51 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Snax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 758
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silveredwings View Post
Why is that? I've seen smooth tensioners set up both ways.
There may be belt wear issues associated with it, but I'm just guessing.

One thing worth pointing out here is that any car with a belt driven pump that has the pump disabled is going to be VERY difficult to steer at lower speeds in particular.

Assuming power steering removal is intended to be permanent and without going so far as to actually replace the rack with a suitable manual one, the best way to deal with that is to drain and disconnect the rack from the pump. (Connect the ends of the hoses together to provide a clean recirculating airpath.) Doing this will alieve the resistance that an inactive pump provides and make steering noticeably easier.
__________________
LiberalImage.com

I think, therefore I doubt.
Snax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 11:35 AM   #17
Supporting Member
 
cfg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,779
Country: United States
Snax -

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snax View Post
There may be belt wear issues associated with it, but I'm just guessing.

One thing worth pointing out here is that any car with a belt driven pump that has the pump disabled is going to be VERY difficult to steer at lower speeds in particular.

Assuming power steering removal is intended to be permanent and without going so far as to actually replace the rack with a suitable manual one, the best way to deal with that is to drain and disconnect the rack from the pump. (Connect the ends of the hoses together to provide a clean recirculating airpath.) Doing this will alieve the resistance that an inactive pump provides and make steering noticeably easier.
Agreed. That is be one of my operating assumptions. An engaged pump could also cause or suffer damage to the steering, I think.

I don't have *proof*, but from what I can tell of my manuals, the rack and pinion component of my power steering is the same as the rack and pinion component of manual steering Saturns. Sooooo, done right, I could have "stock Saturn" manual steering.

CarloSW2
__________________
Old School SW2 EPA ... New School Civic EPA :

What's your EPA MPG? http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 03:04 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
VetteOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,546
Country: United States
accualy a PSU wouldnt seem to cause that much drag on a belt anyways,(least the ones ive messed with). take your current belt off and give the pump a good spin. it should stay spionning for a few seconds. that and u will find that it is easy to spin.
__________________

VetteOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no ethanol in prem. fuel ? JBW General Fuel Topics 17 11-03-2014 12:20 AM
Looks like the price you entered for a litre of gas is unrealistic. winstona Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 05-12-2013 11:26 AM
Wrong MPG adefeatedman Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 02-16-2012 09:35 AM
Over 100 Gallons twbhd04 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 14 06-20-2011 09:09 AM
Recommendations for a tire gauge Compaq888 General Fuel Topics 10 04-21-2006 03:18 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.