Cylinder Deactivation - Page 5 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2007, 11:56 AM   #41
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 113
Country: United States
...and deactivated cylinders separated by two strokes instead of one.

My car probably wouldn't work well for this, since it's an automatic; with more throttle, the ECM unlocks the TCC clutch and FE goes to Hell. Any efficiency gains would be soaked up by the torque converter.
__________________

__________________
GasSavers_Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 11:56 AM   #42
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 113
Country: United States
...and deactivated cylinders separated by two strokes instead of one.

My car probably wouldn't work well for this, since it's an automatic; with more throttle, the ECM unlocks the TCC clutch and FE goes to Hell. Any efficiency gains would be soaked up by the torque converter.
__________________

__________________
GasSavers_Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 02:49 PM   #43
Registered Member
 
omgwtfbyobbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,516
Country: United States
Yeah... That's the problem with automatics and their kick-down crap. In a situation like this turning it off from the cab would be the best bet since the driver could cut fuel under low load/flat ground/low speed, so the automatic wouldn't upshift. But, this is something that's ultimately best for a M/T... Sure wish my pickup wasn't carb'd, I bet this could result in some serious FE increases with the right setup.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaTwo
I think if i could get that type of FE i would have no problem driving a dildo shaped car.
omgwtfbyobbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 04:17 PM   #44
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 113
Country: United States
I mentioned earlier that my `78 (carbureted) Malibu got its best mileage with a couple of cylinders effectively deactivated by worn-out cams...if you wanted to simulate this on your P/U and can tolerate a serious decrease in power, just pull the rocker arms on a couple of cylinders. If it won't start, pull the plugs on those cylinders as well.

You may want to try pulling plug wires on a couple of cylinders first to verify which pair gives the smoothest operation.
__________________
GasSavers_Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 10:41 AM   #45
Registered Member
 
skewbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 771
Country: United States
re: deactivating cylinders, seems to me that a flat 4 engine could be split into two flat 2 engines that had a clutch (or in-out box) between them that are both reasonably balanced in themselves.
__________________
Standard Disclaimer
skewbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 11:49 AM   #46
Registered Member
 
omgwtfbyobbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,516
Country: United States
So I can do this with a carb'd engine? Does the carb just mix a certain amount of fuel with a certain amount of air, so with two valves not opening, the carb just won't mix any fuel in? Regarding ECUs, they're kinda wonky ime. For instance, it took ~50-100 miles for the CEL to go off when I hadn't properly installed my heated O2 sensor. I was able to pass smog by reseting the ECU a day before the check.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaTwo
I think if i could get that type of FE i would have no problem driving a dildo shaped car.
omgwtfbyobbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 10:57 AM   #47
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 113
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtfbyobbq View Post
So I can do this with a carb'd engine? Does the carb just mix a certain amount of fuel with a certain amount of air, so with two valves not opening, the carb just won't mix any fuel in.
The carb just sits on top of the engine and mixes air and fuel. It doesn't care much where it goes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by skewbe View Post
re: deactivating cylinders, seems to me that a flat 4 engine could be split into two flat 2 engines that had a clutch (or in-out box) between them that are both reasonably balanced in themselves.
GM did a concept car based on this a few decades back, though it was two larger engines instead and each was at a different end of the car to optimize F/R weight ratio. The main problem was that the second engine, which was only used for acceleration, was always too cold to work efficiently.
__________________
GasSavers_Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 01:06 PM   #48
Registered Member
 
omgwtfbyobbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,516
Country: United States
Sweet. And I just need to make sure that I'm deactivating two cylinders that move together, like 1 and 4 or 2 and 3.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaTwo
I think if i could get that type of FE i would have no problem driving a dildo shaped car.
omgwtfbyobbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 04:19 AM   #49
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 113
Country: United States
That'd be my recommendation.

I'd tend to think deactivating 1 and 4 would be preferable over 2 and 3; 2 and 3 should run a bit hotter than 1 and 4, since they're adjacent to each other, and engines like to run hot.

Like I said, try pulling some plug wires first and trying some different combinations before you commit to minor surgery. You may decide that even if you use the correct 2 cylinders, it's still too rough or underpowered.
__________________
GasSavers_Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 05:24 PM   #50
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 675
Country: United States
Having traveled this road and beat it up pretty badly, here's my 2 cents.

First, just eliminating the ignition to one or more cylinders doesn't do anything except make the car run like garbage.

Second, in order for this to work, you have to disable the valves opening and closing on the cylinder or cylinders which you are attempting to disable. However, pulling the pistons is a problem because crankshafts have oil journals from one crank to the next. If you pull a connecting rod and piston, you will lose your oil pressure and syanora. (Don't know the spelling) If you pull your rocker arms, you have the same fundamental problem, they rocker arm is hollow, allowing oil to flow, under pressure, to all of the rockers. If you pull a rocker, again, no oil.

Their are at least two possible alternatives, although I'm sure their are more.

One, if you remove the rocker, replace the rocker with a modified rocker, which is shortened on both ends, to maintain the oil pressure. This presumes you do both the intake and exhaust valves, on any given cylinder.

Two, if you took a VTEC engine, maybe you could get the camshaft reground, to allow the timing to stay the same, but just disable one or two of the cylinders. I believe this is what Honda is probably doing on their V6 engines

Short of those two, or something similar, just eliminating the fuel or the ignition to the cylinder is just going to give you a rough running engine.
__________________

Gary Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Facebook post not working? jwalker343 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 15 07-12-2014 05:08 PM
Problems with Total Miles Driven bmalachuk Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 05-02-2011 04:15 PM
Fill up more than one vehicle with SMS GillaFunk Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 04-12-2011 01:48 AM
No MPG on next tank after partial fuel-up ? insightfulone Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 04-18-2010 12:54 PM
Hey I'm a new member with a Festiva GasSavers_Kraig Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 24 08-21-2006 06:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.