Data to collect? - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2009, 05:39 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Based on what I saw at that link, it looks like you're expected to tap the wire that goes from that sensor to the ECU rather than query it from the ECU via OBDII. You get the same data that the ECU gets, rather than have the ECU tell you. You're using the existing sensor, you're just using its raw signal rather than the data the ECU provides.

So, for the IAT, you'd find the wire coming out of the intake snorkel and tap it to run to that module.
__________________

__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 08:49 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
the way I saw it (and it may be wrong) it asks you if you want to include the AIT sensor. I am not farmiliar with that terminology but if you look at the box, it has a thermocouple plug on it that says K-TYPE T.C. the TC plug is standard for most K-types of thermocouples. I think yellow is for K and blue is for T and it is polarized. one lead is wider than the other.

it just hit me. the IAT sensor in most cars isn't a thermocouple at all. it is a variable resistor. a theromocouple actually gives off a voltage (be it small and able to handle almost no current draw) and that voltage varies by temperature. the IAT, being just a resistor, can be replaced with a resistor. this was a trick that some people used for a power increase. you would put a large resistor either inline with the sensor or to relace it completely. this would make the engine think that the air was colder. it didn't matter during regular driving but during WOT, you go into open loop and it ignores the oxy sensor.

wow, I just flashed back a couple of years on that one.
__________________

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retire your old vehicles Matt Timion Fuelly Web Support and Community News 12 05-01-2008 01:08 PM
1998 National Speed Limit? gto78 General Discussion (Off-Topic) 7 03-22-2008 02:10 PM
when does winter gas end? civic94 General Maintenance and Repair 0 02-25-2008 07:20 PM
Brake and light inspection SupraRXZ General Maintenance and Repair 8 10-04-2006 02:06 AM
Ping Sming and bad gas lovemysan General Fuel Topics 4 09-14-2006 09:20 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.