Fuel Economy Simulator - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 06-01-2009, 10:30 AM   #1
Registered Member

Fuel Economy Simulator

I have extensive experience with genetic algorithms and want to create a program to evolve the most fuel efficient driving strategy for various terrain scenarios. A key part of this program will be a simulator to evaluate each potential strategy. I figure all I need are the rolling resistance and drag coefficients, terrain inclines, and engine efficiency and power output vs throttle position and I should be able to write such a simulator. Can anyone see any potential problems with this approach? I'll need to hunt down a reasonably representative set of graphs for the engine performance, so any suggestions on that front would be appreciated. Thanks.

Main Entry: co de pen dence - see codependency
co de pen den cy
Pronunciation: \kō-di-ˈpen-dən(t)-sē\
Function: noun
Date: 1979

: a psychological condition or a relationship in which a person is controlled or manipulated by another who is affected with a pathological condition (as an addiction to alcohol or heroin) ; broadly : dependence on the needs of or control by another
GasSavers_maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 10:32 AM   #2
Registered Member

Oh, yeah, I guess I need an estimate for the extra frictional losses when applying power (vs when coasting in neutral) as well. I'm neglecting DFCO (at least for now) and assuming neutral coasting.

co de pen den cy

: a psychological condition or a relationship in which a person is controlled or manipulated by another who is affected with a pathological condition (as an addiction to alcohol or heroin) ; broadly : dependence on the needs of or control by another
Old 06-04-2009, 02:09 PM   #3
Registered Member