MID Install - Page 3 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2007, 02:46 PM   #21
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by UfoTofU View Post
Would I be able to use my current gauge cluster cover if I found one of these or would I have to get that separate as well?
if you got a new VSS you'd need a new cluster as well.

Unless you don't care to monitor your speed.
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 02:51 PM   #22
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 02:54 PM   #23
Registered Member
 
UfoTofU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 330
Country: United States
Damn, looks like I will have to get the following then :

- Electronic VSS
- Cluster
- cluster shroud (since I have a squarish 88 rex)
__________________
- UfoTofU

UfoTofU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 04:45 PM   #24
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by UfoTofU View Post
Damn, looks like I will have to get the following then :

- Electronic VSS
- Cluster
- cluster shroud (since I have a squarish 88 rex)
In that case, you have a few options:

1: Read post #19 above
2: Yoshi has external VSS units that attach to your axle for sale as well. Might be much less hassle than swapping everything out.

I know on my HF tranny I couldn't get the cable VSS out for the life of me.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 06:15 PM   #25
Registered Member
 
UfoTofU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 330
Country: United States
Sorry Matt, totally skipped over post #19.

I would much rather prefer to try this out before going ahead with a cluster swap and all of that nonsense.

My MPFI swap parts are almost all together, just have to find some injector plugs and other small pieces.

It's almost torture having the SuperMID in my posession and not being able to install it, it will just make the pay-off that much sweeter I guess.
__________________
- UfoTofU

UfoTofU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 07:59 PM   #26
Registered Member
 
UfoTofU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 330
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion View Post
Just FYI... I never did test this, but it might be worth testing before you go changing VSS and clusters.

on the back of the cluster there is a terminal that gives an electronic signal relative to your speed. It gives it in pulses, I believe 4 per revolution.

Many people have said it wouldn't work for a SuperMID, but none of them have tested it. It was my original intention to test it before I bought the Honda Fit.

I would test this before going crazy with everything else.

That being said, I don't think that the SuperMID can work on a DPFI engine/ECU. It assumes four injectors. DPFI has one primary injector and one secondary injector.
Pardon my ignorance but how would I go about finding this terminal?
__________________
- UfoTofU

UfoTofU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 08:12 AM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Location: Marion, OH
Send a message via AIM to crabbyman
Ok..sorry to dig up an old thread..but where did you buy all this from premade?

I found where there was the DIY to make the whole unit yourself...but I'm not that technically inclined to do that big of a schematic or circuit.

What work would be required to make it similar to a ScanGauge?
crabbyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:39 PM   #28
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 06:20 PM   #29
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Location: Marion, OH
Send a message via AIM to crabbyman
What was the cost? ..is it competitive vs a ScanGauge for MPG purposes or would it be easier/cheaper just to get the SGII?
crabbyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 06:58 PM   #30
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which car saves more gas? civic94 General Fuel Topics 4 08-03-2007 08:55 PM
is grill blocking safe? heyheyhey General Fuel Topics 5 06-22-2007 06:44 PM
The tricks up my sleeve... Methods I may implement for better FE. DrivenByNothing General Fuel Topics 59 04-25-2007 10:40 AM
2008 Prius zpiloto General Fuel Topics 4 01-21-2007 01:31 PM
Users now able to create articles Matt Timion Fuelly Web Support and Community News 0 10-01-2005 02:12 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.