SuperMID M1, MPG Computer - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2006, 12:27 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Re: Just received an email from

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
Just received an email from Yoshi. He is saying that he might be able to assemble one for me after we find out how it works in your Del Sol.
Yes,
I heard the same from him today. He also said.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshi
The Toyota Tech Manual says the injector spec is between 36 to 46cc
in 15 sec, which means about 164cc/min. However, my Prius measurement
result is 222cc. The default fuel parameter is 13515 to meet Prius.
Anyway, the fuel parameter can be set about plus/minus 50% of above.
I believe you'll be able to find the best parameter using the current
+/- 50% range.

Your 240cc is just a spec value, and I believe the actual may be varied.
Good solution is that drive a tank, then fill up.
Calc the real mileage, then compare to the displayed value.
Then, adjust the parameter referring to the bottom of attached PDF file
which was sent to you last summer.
Anyway, I believe you don't need an absolute mileage value, but
a relative value comparing your driving styles will be enough. :-)

Regarding to distance parameter, the default 2572 value should
be right on if you wear a standard size of tires. It's the industrial
standard.
I have a pdf file that explains the features and calibration parameters. I just don't know how to post it.



__________________

__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 01:03 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
SuperMID Functions and calibration detail

http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/1883/m1menueng7of.jpg

SuperMID Functions and calibration detail. I had to convert to jpeg before the service would accept it. The pdf is much clearer.
__________________

__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 02:59 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Speed Sensor

The SuperMID set up for the Prius has a distance parameter value of 2572. If you divide by 3, you get 857. The Prius OEM tire has 855 revs per mile. So my guess is that the Prius speed sensor sends out 3 pulses per revolution. Can anyone tell me if the Honda speed sensors have the same 3 pulses per revolution? If so, since my tires are 840 revs per mile, I will set the parameter to 2520.
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 05:52 AM   #14
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
Re: Speed Sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
The SuperMID set up for the Prius has a distance parameter value of 2572. If you divide by 3, you get 857. The Prius OEM tire has 855 revs per mile. So my guess is that the Prius speed sensor sends out 3 pulses per revolution. Can anyone tell me if the Honda speed sensors have the same 3 pulses per revolution? If so, since my tires are 840 revs per mile, I will set the parameter to 2520.
In the OBD training manuals I sent you, I think this is outlined.
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 04:48 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Re: Speed Sensor

Hello all from Japan.
Thank you for your interest in my SuperMID.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
The SuperMID set up for the Prius has a distance parameter value of 2572. If you divide by 3, you get 857. The Prius OEM tire has 855 revs per mile. So my guess is that the Prius speed sensor sends out 3 pulses per revolution. Can anyone tell me if the Honda speed sensors have the same 3 pulses per revolution? If so, since my tires are 840 revs per mile, I will set the parameter to 2520.
The revolution standard is some what different.
Let's imagine an old mechanical speedometer driven by wire cable.
The industrial standard is 637 revolution for 1km drive.
Hopefully, Honda uses the same standard.

Prius sends 4 pulses per the cabe revolution, which means about 39.25 cm/pulse. ( 100,000 cm / (637 * 4 ) )
The SuperMID M-1 wants 0.01km(10m) resolution, then I programmed it as follows...
A 16bit register accumulates "some value" until it overflowed(value becomes 65536 or over), then increment the 10m memory data. We need 25.48 pulses for 10m drive. ( 1000 cm / 39.25 cm )
The "some value" is 65536 / 25.48 = 2572.

So, please forget to compare the tire sizes between Prius and del sol.
Please compare between standard and your tire on del sol, or it is better to calibrate the display value using your favorite miles-post method.

Regards,
Yoshi
GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 05:23 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Re: Speed Sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshi
Hello all from Japan.
Thank you for your interest in my SuperMID.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
The SuperMID set up for the Prius has a distance parameter value of 2572. If you divide by 3, you get 857. The Prius OEM tire has 855 revs per mile. So my guess is that the Prius speed sensor sends out 3 pulses per revolution. Can anyone tell me if the Honda speed sensors have the same 3 pulses per revolution? If so, since my tires are 840 revs per mile, I will set the parameter to 2520.
The revolution standard is some what different.
Let's imagine an old mechanical speedometer driven by wire cable.
The industrial standard is 637 revolution for 1km drive.
Hopefully, Honda uses the same standard.

Prius sends 4 pulses per the cabe revolution, which means about 39.25 cm/pulse. ( 100,000 cm / (637 * 4 ) )
The SuperMID M-1 wants 0.01km(10m) resolution, then I programmed it as follows...
A 16bit register accumulates "some value" until it overflowed(value becomes 65536 or over), then increment the 10m memory data. We need 25.48 pulses for 10m drive. ( 1000 cm / 39.25 cm )
The "some value" is 65536 / 25.48 = 2572.

So, please forget to compare the tire sizes between Prius and del sol.
Please compare between standard and your tire on del sol, or it is better to calibrate the display value using your favorite miles-post method.

Regards,
Yoshi
Yoshi, Glad to see you here! I will probably leave the default value and change it after 50 miles on my trip odometer. I can get it close anyway. Then I will do the milepost calibration. I can hardly wait!
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 05:28 PM   #17
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
mile post calibration may be

mile post calibration may be the best bet for me. My tires are not the stock size, so my odometer/speedometer is not 100% accurate, although it is within error.

Maybe another possible solution is to drive a certain distance with a handheld GPS unit that is accurate within a few feet and then use the distance displayed there.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 05:19 AM   #18
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
Whichever method you use

Whichever method you use [milepost or GPS], be sure to keep in mind that the more markers you pass, the more accurate your results due to the law of averaging.
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 09:38 AM   #19
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Re: Whichever method you use

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaX
Whichever method you use [milepost or GPS], be sure to keep in mind that the more markers you pass, the more accurate your results due to the law of averaging.
Very true. I might have access to GPS equipment soon that is made to have accuracy of .05 feet, which is less than an inch. If there is the right software to calculate distance and speed, then I'll be set for calibration.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 09:14 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
SuperMID M1 Coming Soon

Good from Yoshi today. He said that he hoped to have the M1 finished over the weekend and send it to me on Monday. It should be here 6-10 after that. I can't wait!
__________________

__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly API, Remote Update hufman Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 11-26-2017 11:28 AM
Not very precise mpg calculation larjerr Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 08-20-2012 02:03 AM
Mileage/KM Missing from 1 Fill Up. mechjames Fuelly Web Support and Community News 5 03-09-2010 04:17 AM
Keeping my distance in traffic khurt General Fuel Topics 8 09-07-2008 04:23 AM
"active" aero grille slats on 06 civic concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 21 01-03-2006 01:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.