SuperMID M1, MPG Computer - Page 4 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2006, 05:36 PM   #31
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 144
Country: United States
Re: SuperMID Up and Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
...Then I will fill up the tank for a full tank calibration...
I would suggest maybe doing a highway trial that can be completed in an hour or two and still be tenths or hundreds of a MPG accurate. Then you could have you gauge up and running (calibrated) a lot sooner. Top off, spend some time enjoying that sexy Del Sol of yours, top off again, and calculate. I've done a few tests this way and the results are surprisingly accurate. Accurate enough to measure the effects of a few degrees of ambient temperature difference in fuel economy.
__________________

__________________
Scouring the country for an excellent condition Civic VX
Flatland2D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 05:47 PM   #32
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
this is great news, krousdb.

this is great news, krousdb. an mpg computer for the non obd2 set.

the price isn't too crazy. at $160 it's $30 more than a new scangauge, but less than many of the laptop-connectable OBD scanners.
__________________

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 01:38 AM   #33
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Re: SuperMID Up and Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
So far so good with the BETA testing.
Thank you for your report.
Glad to hear the basic functions are working well.

Yoshi
GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 01:47 AM   #34
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Re: How does it work so that

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compaq888
How does it work so that when the trottle is closed your fuel supply is off????
It measures the pulse width of injector for the fuel usage.
If the vehicle goes to the fuel cut mode, the pulse width becomes zero.
Quote:
Anybody know if my car got that?
Basically, the SuperMID M-1 works on any car which has fuel injectors and speed(distance) pulse output.

Do you know the pins for these signals from your ECU?

Yoshi
GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 02:24 AM   #35
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Re: SuperMID Up and Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
Now to your mounting question. Does it come in a plastic case?
No, it does not.
It looks like this...
upper: SuperMID M-1 (mileage meter)
lower: SuperMID T-1 (tacho meter)

Yoshi
GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 02:41 AM   #36
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Re: SuperMID Up and Running

I found a convienient place to mount it. I didn't really need a case. you can't see it from the outside of the car because it is hidden by the safety and emmission stickers.


Another interesting point is the % time the engine is running and FE while the engine is running(shown as 76% and 19.46 km/l). During the 6 mile test run, the injectors were only active for 76% of the trip time, either because the engine was off completely or the injectors were cutoff during closed throttle engine braking. Whil the engine is running, my FE is shown as 19.46 km/L or 46 MPG. Now some of the off time was due to stopping at a convinience store for a few minutes to pick up some stuff. Also I had the supermid runnning for several minutes during installation so the 27 minute and 21km/h ave speed are not truly indicative of the trip.

More to come. Thanks Yoshi!
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 03:07 AM   #37
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Re: this is great news, krousdb.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetroMPG
this is great news, krousdb. an mpg computer for the non obd2 set.

the price isn't too crazy. at $160 it's $30 more than a new scangauge, but less than many of the laptop-connectable OBD scanners.
I'm guessing that shipping is ~$30. So buying in bulk should be cheaper. A kit would be even less but Yoshi says they are hard to build.
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 07:55 AM   #38
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
i'll also point out that

i'll also point out that this is more accurate than the scangauge, which apparently doesn't recognize the injectors-off condition.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 08:34 AM   #39
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
USA-centric

I know that this is rather USA-centric of me, but it DOES display US miles and gallons, right?
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 08:48 AM   #40
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Re: USA-centric

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
I know that this is rather USA-centric of me, but it DOES display US miles and gallons, right?
Not with it's current programming. I thought that I would just adjust the fuel and distance parameters to force a MPG output but unfortunately there is not enough range in those numbers to do that. I am used to km/L from having it in my Prius. Just take the the km/L output and multiply by 2.35. My target is 22 km/L which is 51.7 MPG. If you just keep that target in mind, you at least know if you are above or below it.
__________________

__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly API, Remote Update hufman Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 11-26-2017 11:28 AM
Not very precise mpg calculation larjerr Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 08-20-2012 02:03 AM
Mileage/KM Missing from 1 Fill Up. mechjames Fuelly Web Support and Community News 5 03-09-2010 04:17 AM
Keeping my distance in traffic khurt General Fuel Topics 8 09-07-2008 04:23 AM
"active" aero grille slats on 06 civic concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 21 01-03-2006 01:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.