SuperMID M1, MPG Computer - Page 5 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2006, 09:11 AM   #41
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Re: USA-centric

Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
I know that this is rather USA-centric of me, but it DOES display US miles and gallons, right?
Not with it's current programming.
Sorry about that, but Dan is right.
It was programmed for Japanese Prius and I tried to be optimized, effective and fast results for km/L.
Please try to acknowledge/understand the international SI units standard.
Yoshi
__________________

GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 09:14 AM   #42
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Re: USA-centric

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshi
Please try to acknowledge/understand the international SI units standard.
Yoshi
LOL. I'm a big fan of the metric system. Perhaps I can lobby the state government here to change all "Speed Limit" signs to have both MPH and KM/H on them.
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 09:21 AM   #43
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Re: SuperMID Up and Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
Another interesting point is the % time the engine is running and FE while the engine is running(shown as 76% and 19.46 km/l). During the 6 mile test run, the injectors were only active for 76% of the trip time, either because the engine was off completely or the injectors were cutoff during closed throttle engine braking.
[snip]
Thanks Yoshi!
You're welcome!

One minor correction.
The % value is not % time but % distance.

So, your taget is 27% distance the engine running as same as the 1400 mile marathon, right?
Yoshi
GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 09:26 AM   #44
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
you'll get used to it, matt.

you'll get used to it, matt. i did - before i got the scangauge, i never used to "think" in mpg (US).

but after having learned my mpg (US) "targets", as dan pointed out, i stopped worrying about it.

to me it doesn't matter if the thing reports Kanseis per Farfegnugens as long as it's accurate and consistent. it's my "target" points and the relative differences between them that interest me most.

the only time i really like to have control of units is when running tests, when i select "km/gal (US)" output. nobody ever uses those units in real life, but it's where the SG offers the highest resolution for comparing readings. (i'm nit-picking, admittedly).
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 10:07 AM   #45
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Re: SuperMID Up and Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshi
So, your taget is 27% distance the engine running as same as the 1400 mile marathon, right?
Yoshi
LOL! I think 27% distance NOT running would be a more realistic target. Today on the way to work I showed engine on 79% of distance and 27.5 km/L (64.5 MPG). ;-)

Perhaps a little calibration is in order. I was guessing 55 MPG on the way to work and 47 on the way home, 51 average. This would correlate well with the typcal prius commute.
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 10:13 AM   #46
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Re: you'll get used to it, matt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetroMPG
Kanseis per Farfegnugens
I tried googling that unit of measure and came up with nothing.;-) Are you sure about the spelling? What would be the conversion factor?
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 08:44 PM   #47
Registered Member
 
Compaq888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
Re: How does it work so that

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compaq888
How does it work so that when the trottle is closed your fuel supply is off????
It measures the pulse width of injector for the fuel usage.
If the vehicle goes to the fuel cut mode, the pulse width becomes zero.
Quote:
Anybody know if my car got that?
Basically, the SuperMID M-1 works on any car which has fuel injectors and speed(distance) pulse output.

Do you know the pins for these signals from your ECU?

Yoshi
Yes I know them. I have a service manual from nissan, AEM EMS manual, and a hayne's manual. The question I asked was does anybody know if my car has the shutting off injection feature???

If this was sold for like a $100 I'd be all over it. Maybe we can do a group buy?
__________________

Compaq888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 09:11 PM   #48
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
Re: How does it work so that

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compaq888
does anybody know if my car has the shutting off injection feature
your nissan service manual should say.

but i kind of suspect that this feature isn't included on cars with automatic transmissions. if your fuel supply were shut off, wouldn't your motor would stop running (unless your torque converter was locked)?

*maybe* there's enough pressure in the torque converter (unlocked) above a certain rpm to keep the motor turning. i'm not certain.

in a manual shift car, the momentum of the vehicle through the direct connection of the wheels, tranny, and motor keeps the motor spinning, even when the fuel is off. when the rpm drops low enough that the engine is about to fall below idle rpm, the injectors start supplying fuel again.

i could be wrong on the auto trans thing. just a guess.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 09:26 PM   #49
Registered Member
 
Compaq888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
Re: How does it work so that

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetroMPG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compaq888
does anybody know if my car has the shutting off injection feature
your nissan service manual should say.

but i kind of suspect that this feature isn't included on cars with automatic transmissions. if your fuel supply were shut off, wouldn't your motor would stop running (unless your torque converter was locked)?

*maybe* there's enough pressure in the torque converter (unlocked) above a certain rpm to keep the motor turning. i'm not certain.

in a manual shift car, the momentum of the vehicle through the direct connection of the wheels, tranny, and motor keeps the motor spinning, even when the fuel is off. when the rpm drops low enough that the engine is about to fall below idle rpm, the injectors start supplying fuel again.

i could be wrong on the auto trans thing. just a guess.
I haven't seen anything like it in the manual. So I guess I don't have it. But still I'd get this thing but not the beta model. The production model would be cool. I consistently get 32-33mpg but I have to go through a couple of street lights to get to the gas station so I think my mpg is 35+mpg. With this unit I wouldn't have to do any driving tests and I could see what rpm is best for shifting and what speed is best for fuel economy.

Also would this mpg computer work with 0bd2??
__________________

Compaq888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 10:27 PM   #50
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Re: How does it work so that

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compaq888
Also would this mpg computer work with 0bd2??
Absolutely, but if you have obd2 I'd just get a scangauge. It's cheaper, in MPG, and you can order one right now.
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly API, Remote Update hufman Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 11-26-2017 11:28 AM
Not very precise mpg calculation larjerr Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 08-20-2012 02:03 AM
Mileage/KM Missing from 1 Fill Up. mechjames Fuelly Web Support and Community News 5 03-09-2010 04:17 AM
Keeping my distance in traffic khurt General Fuel Topics 8 09-07-2008 04:23 AM
"active" aero grille slats on 06 civic concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 21 01-03-2006 01:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.