SuperMID M1, MPG Computer - Page 8 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2006, 08:54 AM   #71
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Re: Woot. That's very good, I

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
Woot. That's very good, I hope the calibration sticks to being correct and whatnot, now you've got to go update all those trips you went by the MID with.
Doh! Yes, thanks for reminding me. The data do need to be updated so that they are accurate for comparison purposes.
__________________

__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 04:17 PM   #72
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
SuperMID Update

Tonight I added 10.042 gallons, which is what the SuperMID showed. The digital fuel gauge showed 2.5 OHMS which is where I filled it to last time. Since the 2.5 mark is the lowest that the gauge shows, there is a chance that it hit 2.5 OHMS before I got to 10.042 gallons so SuperMID probably isn't perfect dead on as the data might indicate. But it is pretty darn close.

- Miles Indicated (SuperMID) 571.8
- Gallons Indicated (SuperMID) 10.042
- MPG (SuperMID) 56.94

Not a bad tank, eh? Ave driving temp 30-35F. Can't wait for sustained warmer temps.
__________________

__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 05:04 PM   #73
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
glad the supermid is working

glad the supermid is working out. question: what does its name mean?

and nice driving, krousdb! i like the way your gaslog is "trending".

the warm spell we had a week or so ago was a nice tease, wasn't it? i can't wait for some more of that.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 05:19 PM   #74
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
I have no idea what the name

I have no idea what the name SuperMID means???

Yes the trend is nice. The first few days were in the 50'sF and I scored a few RT commutes at just over 60MPG. I had high hopes for this tank but then the teens and 20's came back for the AM trip and 20's and 30's for the PM trip. I was lucky to end up where I did. Once we get some warm temps back here in PA I promise to send it up North if you promise not to send any of your Canadian air down here.
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 05:42 PM   #75
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
Re: I have no idea what the name

Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
Once we get some warm temps back here in PA I promise to send it up North if you promise not to send any of your Canadian air down here.
deal!

besides, now that i've wrapped up nearly a week of afternoons on my back on the garage floor in 1 C temps, i'm sure it's bound to warm up anyway.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 07:24 PM   #76
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Re: glad the supermid is working

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetroMPG
question: what does its name mean?
Hi all,

The MID stands for Multi Information Display.
I wanted to add something to that.
So, decided to call it SuperMID.

Yoshi
GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 09:58 PM   #77
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Re: Hey yoshi, could you give me

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
Hey yoshi, could you give me a rundown of all the parameters that the SuperMID monitors? I've been wondering about this recently. Thanks a ton.
Hi SVOboy,

input:
- injector pulse width
- speed pulse for distance

output:
- line1: instantaneous mileage, instantaneous fuel usage, injector pulse width
- line2: 1km avg mileage, timer(blinks every 5min), avg speed
- line 3: avg mileage, driving time, distance
- line 4: engin-on mileage, engine-on %, cannel name, fuel used.
- 5 channels are T(tank), A(trip-A), B(trip-B), L(lap - max 20 laps) and S(start - since power-on)

Please refer to following diplay menu...
http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/1883/m1menueng7of.jpg

Yoshi
GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 01:27 AM   #78
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Re: So basically it only

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
So basically it only measures those two variables coming from the car and then you preset certain things like injector size and all that?
Yes. The distance and fuel parameter setting will adjust the variables.
Quote:
Is it tapped into the injector signal lines coming from the ecu or what?
Yes. It is connected one of injector lines for fuel usage.
Quote:
What method does it use to analyze the pulse width?
It uses the ICP or input capture function of Atmel ATmega8 microprocessor.
Quote:
What language is the code written on for the chip that controls it?
An assembler of AVR Studio 4 by Atmel.

Yoshi
GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 04:13 PM   #79
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshi View Post
It measures the pulse width of injector for the fuel usage.
If the vehicle goes to the fuel cut mode, the pulse width becomes zero.

Basically, the SuperMID M-1 works on any car which has fuel injectors and speed(distance) pulse output.

Do you know the pins for these signals from your ECU?

Yoshi
I am trying to figure my fuel consumption on an 1984 AMC Eagle.
My engine is an AMC258 Inline 6 carbureted, My question can I use your SuperMID device or am I still in the dark?
Thank you
Jeremy
GasSavers_ZiLg0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 05:39 PM   #80
Registered Member
 
ajohnmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to ajohnmeyer
Sorry, it won't work in your AMC. the Super MID only works in cars with electronic Fuel injection, and more specifically, only with the Toyota Prius and certain Honda 4cyls.

You could try using a vacuum gauge in your AMC though
__________________

__________________
"I got 350 heads on a 305 engine. I get 10 miles to the gallon. I ain't got no good intentions." -The Drive By Truckers

Team OPEC Busters!
ajohnmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly API, Remote Update hufman Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 11-26-2017 11:28 AM
Not very precise mpg calculation larjerr Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 08-20-2012 02:03 AM
Mileage/KM Missing from 1 Fill Up. mechjames Fuelly Web Support and Community News 5 03-09-2010 04:17 AM
Keeping my distance in traffic khurt General Fuel Topics 8 09-07-2008 04:23 AM
"active" aero grille slats on 06 civic concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 21 01-03-2006 01:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.