Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/)
-   -   T100 Hopeful (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/t100-hopeful-10015.html)

T100Glut 09-18-2008 09:37 AM

T100 Hopeful

I have a 1995 Toyota T100 4x4 with a 3.2 liter v6. It has a distributorless ignition system. It is running close to 300K miles. I get about 16 MPG right now. My hope is to develop an HHO system that will bump up my mileage and save me some money. I just took on a new job. I fill up every three to four days as I drive 120 miles/day just for work. I was considering a new car, but after reviewing what HHO might do form me I want to give it a shot. I have some electronics knowledge and lots of auto mechanics knowledge from a decade ago. I am a programmer by trade and a fairly astute problem solver.

I wonder if HHO may be produced at the injector using a type of wet-cell technology that is fed water at a slow rate. Timing at the injector could be used to boost/restrict the flow as the engine needs it. I have not seen any devices that do this yet.

Project84 09-18-2008 09:44 AM

I say sell the pig and find a car built for commuting... I would recommend a Saturn, but I'm biased. They're easy and cheap to work on and the SOHC models are capable of mid 40's bone stock. Cheap initial cost too.

Good luck w/ HHO if you decide to go that route, we have a forum here just for HHO discussion.

rgathright 09-18-2008 09:46 AM

Welcome.

1) If your tires are in good condition, try filling them to the max PSI.
2) Install an electric fan and remove the stock, mechanical, clutch fan.
3) Run without the A/C or turn the A/C up so that it will not cycle on/off as much.

GasSavers_BEEF 09-18-2008 10:47 AM

unless you need the truck for your work, I would trade it in or buy a beater as a second vehicles.