Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Aerodynamics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   tire air diflector MPG gain? (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f14/tire-air-diflector-mpg-gain-10560.html)

collegekid01 12-13-2008 08:34 AM

tire air diflector MPG gain?

Has anyone got solid numbers on a gain from using the mod where a bent piece of plastic deflects the airflow around the tires? I'm thinking about doing some of those with some ABS plastic I have left over from this semesters projects. (I'm an Industrial Design Student and have access to lots of cool goodies)

Daveedo 12-14-2008 02:56 PM

Got any pics or links to what you are planning?

I recall when i was investigating building an EV that deep dish rims were said to be pretty bad for aerodynamics and some guys would make flat wheel covers for their rims. (sorta like big flat hubcaps)

collegekid01 12-15-2008 02:35 PM

yeah https://insightcentral.net/_images/y00-front-airflow.jpg
or more likehttps://www.gassavers.org/attachment....6&d=1204770113

GasSavers_BEEF 12-15-2008 06:39 PM

like using mud flaps for the front of a tire. I have extended my airdam which has some similar issues to deal with.

you will have som scrub when you are going over speed bumps and also when going over different terrains. I suggest you use a material that gives some and isn't too rigid. also, make sure that it isn't long enough to get caught between the tire and the ground as to get ripped off. I can't see that being good regardless.

good luck with the experiment. also remember, you can always redo it if you aren't happy with the results of the first one. I used a trash can for my airdam and used some tin snips to cut it up. that gave me a pretty thick piece of plastic/rubber (about an eighth of an inch) and the trash can was only about 15 bucks. for you, there would be plenty left over if you wanted to use it for other projects.

collegekid01 12-17-2008 11:14 AM