Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   Car weight and MPGs (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/car-weight-and-mpgs-11198.html)

dletm08 04-29-2009 06:09 AM

Car weight and MPGs

As I stated in my post about my trip mileage in my odyessy, I averaged 36ish mpg.

normally this vehicle gets about 19mpg. So that is an 89% improvement over the vehicle's average.

When I had my civic(1993DX automatic) I would average about 33mpg and get about 41mpg on a highway trip like that. That is only a 24% improvement.

I'm no engineer by any means, but this leads me to believe that the heavier vehicle got the better mileage increase because it weighs more. The extra weight must have helped me keep my momentum during gliding periods, which kept my speed up when it was time to give it some gas.

Has anyone figured this one out already or posted about it?

Maybe this is part of the reason the GM 3.8L cars do so well.

palemelanesian 04-29-2009 06:23 AM

The weight of the vehicle doesn't really matter when it's cruising on the highway. It matters when you're accelerating. So when you're doing a long trip, the larger heavier vehicles will catch up (somewhat) to the mileage of the smaller ones. City mileage goes to the smaller cars, for the reverse reasons.

thisisntjared 04-29-2009 11:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PaleMelanesian (Post 133581)
The weight of the vehicle doesn't really matter when it's cruising on the highway. It matters when you're accelerating.

thats not entirely true, but the difference lost to rolling resistance from the weight is easily lost in other variables. for practical application, i agree.

extra weight afford some ease in navigating hills as you are able to store more energy

imzjustplayin 04-29-2009 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PaleMelanesian (Post 133581)