Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   Hello Need Help (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/hello-need-help-13414.html)

roger2010 03-24-2011 12:15 PM

Hello Need Help

I own a s-10 with the 4.3 liter in it. I know the thing is a gas hog. If I drive as well as possible I can get in the 20 mpg range. I wondering if anyone has any ideas to bump that up a few mpg. I am a college student and don't have alot of money to spend on a different vehicle. I like my s10 because I have to haul things most weekends? thank you.

FrugalFloyd 03-24-2011 01:13 PM

Re: Hello Need Help

Hi,

Is yours AT or MT? Air your tires to maximum sidewall pressure, keep your speeds down, and coast as much as possible. I had an AT Chevy Astro with the 4.3, and the best I could do on long trips was 22 mpg.

If yours is an MT, and you're comfortable EOCing, you can gain a lot by doing that. In any case, coasting to stops from 3-4 blocks away wastes a lot less gas than having your foot on the gas half a block from the stop, and then throwing your momentum away by jamming on the brakes.

Your truck will get its best mpg going slow in top gear. 65 mph is better than 70, 60 is better than 65, 55 is better than 60, 45 is better than 55, and 35 or 40 is better than 45.

bowtieguy 03-24-2011 01:23 PM

are you able to sell your truck, and buy a more efficient car or truck?

if hauling is an absolute must, you could buy a hatch back car or 4 cyl truck(preferably a 5 speed). i've bought "project" vehicles before pretty cheap. are you able to buy cheap vehicles that need TLC and do repairs yourself?

no mods will really yield you much in mpg except those related to the driver.

good luck!

theholycow 03-24-2011 04:47 PM

^Good posts.