Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (http://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (http://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   How does everyone set their timing? (http://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/how-does-everyone-set-their-timing-1910.html)

SVOboy 04-08-2006 12:02 PM

How does everyone set their timing?
 
When I swapped dizzies I left my timing way retarded, and now I'm just going to stick it "in the middle." Do most people just use timing lights or just BS it like I do?

diamondlarry 04-08-2006 03:54 PM

When I last had a car that I
 
When I last had a car that I could change the timing on(Saturn has no distributor), I would advance it to the point where I heard the idle speed go up and start to get slightly rough. I would then back it off(retard) until the idle smoothed out. Then I would only snug the bolt down and take it out for a drive and see how it ran. I would put it into high gear at about 30-35 and see if/how much it pinged. If it was more than just a few very slight pings I would stop and pop the hood and retard it just a bit more. The car seemed to have about the best power and mileage this way.

GasSavers_DaX 04-09-2006 11:42 AM

If you're OBD-1, jump the
 
If you're OBD-1, jump the diagnostic connector and use a timing light.

SVOboy 04-09-2006 11:46 AM

Will I have the diagnostic
 
Will I have the diagnostic connector considering I was originally obd0?

GasSavers_DaX 04-09-2006 11:47 AM

Hmmm, I doubt it. Perhaps
 
Hmmm, I doubt it. Perhaps someone with an OBD-1 Civic, a meter, and about 30 minutes can help you out?

SVOboy 04-09-2006 11:49 AM

Haha, I've already abused
 
Haha, I've already abused jared's time enough, I figured I'm good enough where it is right now, I was planning on tuning it to the point where it started pinging and then drop a degree off.

MetroMPG 04-09-2006 04:47 PM

i also attended the
 
i also attended the diamondlarry school of timing adjustment. i figure i'm 3-5 degrees advanced over spec.

i have no idea if it's actually helping though. another scangauge test on the list...

molecule 04-09-2006 05:12 PM

you have to ground your ecu
 
you have to ground your ecu pin d7
thats the service check connector (not the datalink)
i'll go doublecheck that pinout...
just did this for another conversion guy...

A23,A24,A26 & B2 are all the common grounds that meet at your thermo housing ground on the back of your block...
one is also the stock ground for the service check connector
any will work

http://users.adelphia.net/~digitalco...1connector.gif

SVOboy 04-09-2006 05:13 PM

Sweet, I'll keep that in my
 
Sweet, I'll keep that in my memory, thanks. I'm so good at depinning ecu plugs now!

molecule 04-09-2006 05:16 PM

also i have a bad habit of
 
also i have a bad habit of editing my posts after making them
so always check back for updates...
if its a bad error on my part...you'll see a new post...
read this post again in a couple minutes after i confirm the pinout...
thanx...

nope...its D4...service check connector
this is also the pin to ground to check your ecu for codes
since you haven't done this since your mpfi swap...
i'm expecting you may find something concering your idle

D7 is the datalink connector...


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.