Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/)
-   -   Say hello to the Mighty Mira! (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/say-hello-to-the-mighty-mira-2293.html)

Mighty Mira 06-10-2006 11:46 PM

Say hello to the Mighty Mira!

Hi,

Looks like I found my niche here. I have long been interested in fuel economy, however few people were as obsessed or actually knew as much about it as I did, and now I found a forum where people not only know more but have implemented what they know! Very impressive!

And what a torturous path to get here...googling undertray, to these articles on autospeed about how to DIY a very partial undertray, to phil knox, to gassavers.

I am an engineer (EE) and as nearly all engineers do, I love efficiency. And as such, I can't stand most of the automotive world. We are in a stupid arms race for height and weight, with no one better off in the end. But fortunately rising oil prices are waking people up in a big way. It is very possible to get Cds of 0.20-0.25 (or lower!) and we are stuck with 0.35.

Only a few more years before we get cheap commuting cars for the masses. We aren't there yet, but at least those who are in the know can insulate themselves from fuel dependence.

CAR

On to my car. have a 1993 Daihatsu Mira that I purchased recently. I spent quite a bit of time looking and researching before I purchased it. My goal was to minimize both the expense of the car and the fuel costs, with an eye to make a daily driver that was as fuel efficient as possible.

I bought it mainly for the engine. It has a 660cc, EFI engine. I figure it would beat a 1 litre carburetted daihatsu charade (which was the main alternative at the same price point). The 660cc combined with the EFI should set me up with the best base possible.

Cursory tests reveal that I get about 6.5l/100km in city with normal driving (no engine off or anything). Not that bad.