Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Hypermiling (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f33/)
-   -   What do you monitor with your ScanGauge? (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f33/what-do-you-monitor-with-your-scangauge-5729.html)

striegel 08-10-2007 05:13 PM

What do you monitor with your ScanGauge?

Since I've been driving for a couple of months with my ScanGauge II, I have changed what I monitor with it. This led me to wondering how others work with it.

My current standard display is:

MPG GPH
MPH IAT

What I look at most is the top line and lately I work at keeping my GPH under some arbitrary figures based on the conditions. For example, when I'm driving at the 45 mph speed limit on a level road, I will try to keep it under 1.0 GPH.

While accelerating on the level, I see if I can keep it under 1.5 GPH.

This technique has helped me improve my average FE during my commutes.

What do you use?

LxMike 08-10-2007 05:38 PM

rpm- mpg
iat- wt

rpm's help me to keep steady foot on the gas pedal. I use the water temp one casue i don't trust the factory gauge in dash. i've seen 220 degree temps and needle was in same place.

GeekGuyAndy 08-10-2007 05:45 PM

RPM / MPG
FWT / TPS

The rpm is pointless since I have a tach but just never changed it on the SGII. The mpg is obvious. FWT is good to track so I know how to expect the shifting to go since it's an automatic and when it's warm it shifts much lower. TPS is good to try to see just how low I can keep the throttle to hold speed.

GeekGuyAndy 08-10-2007 05:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LxMike (Post 67657)
rpm's help me to keep steady foot on the gas pedal.

Just curious, do you think it's better to track RPM's or TPS? I always had a tach and tried to pick certain numbers to stay below in certain gears, but now I just watch TPS and it seems easier. I really don't know if there's even really a difference in how it would make me drive if I watched one over another. Are they directly related?