Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   What can I do? (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/what-can-i-do-5779.html)

agentorange2208 08-14-2007 05:02 PM

What can I do?

I am a newbie here that has a 93 Nissan Sentra XE 4Dr and want to get the best gas millage out of it that I can. I have just installed a short RAM air intake and I think next I will get the best spark plugs and wire I can buy. Can anyone else make some suggestions to me and point out what else I can do to get more MPG? I saw that one guy on here gets 80 on just gas alone! Any help or a point in the right direction would be awesome. Thanks guys............Brian

Oh by the way I usually get 300 miles city driving or 400 miles highway on a full tank of gas which is 13 or 15 gallons I believe. Hope that helps.

brucepick 08-14-2007 05:59 PM

Hi! and welcome to GasSavers!

We're dedicated to improved mpg here; I think you already know that.

My tips for a noob?

In this forum [General Fuel Economy Discussion] have a look at the two stickies at the top of the list of threads. That's the list of gas saving tips from best to worst and GS FAQ/Glossary, Busted/Confirmed Mods. I think the two together will give you a good basic education.

Look up your car's EPA estimate on the EPA site
https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/bymod...emodelNF.shtml
See if you're doing better than the estimate. I think the typical driver is getting less than the EPA estimate, by building your skill you can do better than EPA.

Measuring your mpg: You can't judge by how many miles till gauge reads 1/4 or empty or whatever. Here's the basic method: