Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/)
-   -   92 Eagle Talon (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/92-eagle-talon-5892.html)

GasSavers_Donovan 08-25-2007 12:05 PM

92 Eagle Talon

Hello,
I know this car does not come stock with good gas mileage. I am wondering what sort of modifications I can make to the vehicle to increase its gas mileage. I have seen a similar car which claims to get 40 mpg. Basically, I want to know "how can I do that?" I am brand new to this subject, so please take that into consideration. It is currently a stock AWD Turbo.

Thanks in advance!
Donovan

CO ZX2 08-25-2007 10:51 PM

Welcome, Donovan. GasSavers has a member with a 90 Laser. Don't know how similar that may be to yours. His car is turbocharged and he beats 40 mpg regularly. I know he works hard at it. His member name is DRW and he is willing to share what he has done. You can find his posts by searching DRW.

https://www.gassavers.org/search.php?searchid=135483

cfg83 08-25-2007 11:42 PM

Donovan -

Welcome to GS! Like CO ZX2 says, DRW is your man.

CarloSW2

DRW 08-26-2007 09:35 PM

Hi Donovan,
Welcome to the site! My motor is almost all original with 217k miles so far. I've replaced the oil pump, water pump, crank bearings, rod bearings, valvestem seals and springs. The head has never been off, still using original pistons+rings. I've done some mild bolt on mods which are listed in my profile.

Most of the stuff you can do to save gas is common to other cars, so take some time to browse the site and read the stickies. When I first found out about the Gas Savers website I was very happy to be getting around 34mpg. Now that I've been reading and learning about fuel economy my mileage has steadily increased for the past year. I'm sure it'll get even better in the future.