Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   People Powered (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f19/)
-   -   Pretty CFD pictures... (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f19/pretty-cfd-pictures-6762.html)

trebuchet03 11-16-2007 01:48 PM

Pretty CFD pictures...

2 Attachment(s)
So I'm still learning how to use Cosmos.... Last night I did a run, but forgot to set my goals properly. So it calculated flow, but never calculated drag :thumbdown: (basically 6 hours of wasted crunch time)

So I'm almost done, with the calculation goals set correctly...

Here's a picture of what came out... Mind you, this is not our final version - we have to make a person and vehicle fit in there properly... Not to mention, address certain issues with that shape.
https://www.gassavers.org/attachment....1&d=1195252677

This is at 50 ft/s - about 34mph - ~55kph.
Based on the solver working right now, there's about 1.4 poundf of drag (if I'm reading correctly). BUT, there's no ground effect (bonus points for catching that before I said it)... I gotta see about making a moving ground for measurements...

Nerds laugh at me 11-16-2007 07:29 PM

Wow -that is fantastic !

Sort of resembles a shoe in its present form ;-)

I remember seeing a show called Airwolf as a kid. The main star of the show had a 'secret aircraft blueprint' that was shown on a computer screen ( really just a basic wireframe ) Ever since seeing that show, I have wanted to do stuff with CFD design.

I have just always been poor in math ( and in the pocketbooks too ) ...so no CFD for me.
I can certainly admire it all though.

You guys are brilliant and I'm glad that I get to converse with you all.
Looking forward to more CFD posts like this one !

Nerds laugh at me 11-16-2007 07:31 PM

How was your mesh created ? Polygons or ...

Yet another question > What was your render time, and on how many machines ?

Oh what the heck. Another question > What would be the minimum system requirements for using a CFD program ?