Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/)
-   -   Hello, tracking my '96 Saturn for MPG! (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/hello-tracking-my-96-saturn-for-mpg-7074.html)

Project84 12-18-2007 06:37 AM

Hello, tracking my '96 Saturn for MPG!

I've recently been turned on to the idea of saving money (a.k.a. I'm broke and need to spare myself!) so I looked to my daily driver, a '96 Saturn SL2, 1.9L DOHC automatic, as a means of doing so.

I'm implementing ideas like the (hot) air-intake, relocated intake air temp sensor, and keeping the maintenance on this vehicle in tip-top condition.

I'm here to learn, and report findings of my own.

I'm just starting out, so please be kind if I tend to ask lots of silly questions and send PM's to individuals reporting amazing mileage... I'm jealous... lend me a hand!

-John

DarbyWalters 12-18-2007 08:47 AM

Well I know why you are low on funds...RACING BUDGET! That will drain ya'

GasSavers_SD26 12-18-2007 09:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DarbyWalters (Post 86292)
Well I know why you are low on funds...RACING BUDGET! That will drain ya'

Um, yeah, it's that ALL of your money? LOL!

skewbe 12-18-2007 10:20 AM

my 97 sw2 was getting crummy mileage (mid 20s). I swapped in a stick shift so I could "hypermile" it. I get 50mpg without much effort (around town).

Project84 12-18-2007 11:14 AM

The worst part of being broke - winter SCCA downtime. My car was running is ESP and STX classes being essentially a stock car (exhaust mods put me in higher classes). I'm unwilling to remove performance adding exhaust parts (that I got when I bought the car) so I'm forced to modify more things to better fill out my shoes (if you will) in my advanced classes. Springs/shocks/sways, brakes, wheels/tires, clutch.

Sheesh.... lol

Once I sell this truck I'll have some play-money.