Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   Civic VX wheels or aftermarket? (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/civic-vx-wheels-or-aftermarket-9170.html)

travr6 06-27-2008 10:56 AM

Civic VX wheels or aftermarket?

I have a 1995 civic vx with aftermarket wheels.
I have searched around and found nothing to answer my question.

Should I go with the factory civic VX 13" wheels
or
The factory 14" Hx wheels
or
a set of aftermarket lightweight wheels?

I am thinking that the tires generally weigh more then the wheels so I think it would be better for me to go with a 14" light weight wheel and buy a lower profile tire which would save weight. IT would also give me a slightly larger tire diameter which would mean less revolutions per mile.

I am new to this so is my thinking correct?
What do you suggest?

If you suggest buying a lightweight aftermarket wheelset then what do you suggest?
It is hard to find how much wheels weigh. IS there certain brand of wheels that are hypermilers favorites?

mini-e 06-27-2008 11:54 AM

VX's are 9 lbs and HX's 11.5. lbs. They are both pretty darned light and I see them for 150 to 250 a set on Cairg's list all the time with the occasional bargain 80-120 a set popping up.. There are many more good tires available in 185 60 14 than the 175 70 13 and with 14>13 in general it is pretty hard to beat these wheels with aftermarket stuff in terms of wieght/$$. I would go with the HX myself because of the greater availability and choice of good tires. The VX setup would pencil out a bit lighter mounted with tires. Like a couple lbs a wheel or so. You can research the weight difference with specs from tire rack, they are smart enough to give tire weights on all the tires they sell.

civic lover 06-27-2008 12:10 PM