Very low MPG with 01 Malibu - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Tech, Troubleshooting and Repair > General Maintenance and Repair
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 11-06-2009, 06:24 PM   #1
Registered Member

Very low MPG with 01 Malibu

Hello all, I have been looking around at forums and thought this one seemed like everyone knows what their talking about, and for my first post, I have a question that has been bugging me for a while.

My 2001 Chevy Malibu is getting about 13MPG city, and about 18MPG highway. I drive normal, and try my best for fuel economy. The car has 135k and a 3100 V6 This problem is not satisfactory since I commute 60 miles a day.

Im a noob seeking help, what can be wrong? Is it able to be fixed? I am not engine savvy. Thanks!

-Dan

kracka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 06:56 PM   #2
Registered Member

you definitely have a problem. you should be getting 18/26/21 (city/hwy/combined)

have you done maintenance stuff? plugs, wires, clean intake, clean EGR (if it has one), maybe just replace o2 sensor.

is it spitting any codes?

BTW, welcome to the site.

GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 07:48 PM   #3
Registered Member

Welcome from me as well.

Start with the basic stuff...tyre pressures , take all the junk out of the trunk , etc , etc.
Have a look through the 201 tips to save gas at the top of the screen and see how many you can tick off the list.

Post back what you find and there will be someone ready and willing to help you start your hypermiler journey.

Cheers , Pete.
GasSavers_Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:49 PM   #4
Registered Member