Newby diesel advice/info - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 08-01-2009, 01:17 PM   #1
Registered Member

Newby diesel advice/info

I have had restoring my Jeep in the back of my mind for a while, and have also been toying with the idea of sticking a diesel in it. While I know this won't happen any time soon, I love info. I plan to buy the engine (probably used, because of $), but I'm not sure what model/year I should get.

I want something that gets decent mileage if I baby the throttle, but can do moderate hauling if I hammer it. I am also intrigued by the idea of a "no electronics" engine, and just use mechanical controls (EMP-resistant!).

Another feature that lures me to diesel is the fuel compatibility. I have heard that a diesel (namely an old diesel) can run just about any fuel, from vodka to kerosene. I might have it rigged with a dual-fuel switch, to run propane or liquid fuel.

Again I have no experience with diesels (unless moving trucks count ) so any info/advice would be appreciated. What model/year diesel do you have? How has it held up over the years? What kind of maintenance do you need?

-Becoming the Archetype
thecheese429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 06:29 PM   #2
Registered Member

Try 4btswaps.com for a whole bunch of crazy folks who do this sort of thing.

Personally, I'm getting quite addicted to the idea of a 3.3BT in an older Cherokee... 30mpg+ is reported.

I remember The RoadWarrior..To understand who he was, you have to go back to another time..the world was powered by the black fuel & the desert sprouted great cities..Gone now, swept away..two mighty warrior tribes went to war & touched off a blaze which engulfed them all. Without fuel, they were nothing..thundering machines sputtered & stopped..Only those mobile enough to scavenge, brutal enough to pillage would survive. The gangs took over the highways, ready to wage war for a tank of juice