New Job - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 11-14-2006, 04:22 AM   #1

New Job

Well after some turmoil, I have finally decided to take a new job.

I've been working for SaluMedica for over three years now, and thoroughly enjoy my job. I get to experience both manufacturing and R&D work as an engineer here, and designing joint components for the human is very interesting, but it's not exactly where I want to be. A few other things have led to this decision as well - SaluMedica is a venture capitalist funded startup company - zero job security as funding could dry up anytime. Also, benefits are substandard as well as pay.

I have had two companies interested in me in the past month - Toto USA and Chromalloy. Toto made me an offer as a development engineer about 10 days ago. I nearly took the job, then Chromalloy came through and made an offer yesterday to be a repair development project engineer, and I've decided to take the position there.

Toto makes all sorts of plubming fixtures and ceramics. The project I would have been working on is the washlet line - pretty much a fancy compact bidet. Interesting work (electromechanical).

Chromalloy repairs, designs, and manufactures compressor components for high-bypass jet engines. Way cooler job. Not to mention they're only 7 miles from my house.

I start my new job on Monday. Very excited!

GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 04:57 AM   #2
Registered Member

Hey, congrats!

I think it's great when people can get jobs close to home (or get a home close to work).

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 06:34 AM   #3
Registered Member

Send a message via Yahoo to JanGeo
Hummmmm compressors huh . . . one of my friends on the Cape is a retired engineer that used to build the washing machines for cleaning the jet engine turbine bearings. Saw the outer race for a 747 turbine that he has - man was that big!