Why do YOU want to save gas? - Page 5 - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > Hypermiling
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 05-02-2009, 05:18 PM   #41
Registered Member

Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
I'm more broke than broke.

Plus, the extra attention I pay to the road helps keep me focused and gives me something to do when I might otherwise be bored and do something distracting.

Old 05-02-2009, 06:58 PM   #42
Registered Member

I was a student at the time I joined this forum - non-traditional student almost 40 yrs old in law school. My reasons, not in any particular order:

Save money
By slowing down, less risk of speeding tickets - see first reason
Less stress - seems like the faster I try to go, the more people seem to cut me off
Do my part, albeit small, to lower demand thus lowering prices - see first reason
Reduce carbon footprint

As you can see, most of my reasons relate back to saving money. That lines up with my view of the world, though. I don't think the majority of people will make a change unless they can see what they will get in return.

Old 05-03-2009, 01:23 AM   #43

I was told once that a hybrid was the only way to save gas..... I didn't buy it so I started to see just how far I could go on a gallon of fuel.

Main reasons are:
Hate hybrids (most are awful soulless tupperware boxes in my opinion)
I'm cheap
I love a challenge
I studied aerodynamics in school but until now didn't get to apply any of it
Philip1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 04:09 AM   #44
Registered Member

Saving gas is a consequence.

I want to change the way we understand vehicles and transportation.