2003 Toyota Echo 5 speed Automatic - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuelly Community Support > Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 01-07-2015, 10:21 AM   #1
Registered Member

2003 Toyota Echo 5 speed Automatic

I'm new to fuelly, so I hope I am doing this right. My 2003 Automatic Toyota Echo vibrates when I am stopped with my foot on the brake. Is that normal for this car? Also, the car gets to about 50 mph before it shifts into fourth gear. Is this normal? Also, what can I do to increase my mileage? I get about 30mpg overall. The car has new plugs & all new filters. It needs nothing that I can see. I had a 2000 Echo standard before this one that got 45mpg overall.
Thanks for your help.

bargainsue52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 11:00 PM   #2
Registered Member

Sounds like you could have transmission problems. Try shifting into neutral when stopped and see if the vibrations stops. The low MPG's is probably related to the tranny problems, especially as it's taking so long to shift up (im usually in 5th by 30 MPH!)

Saying that, the vibration could be a number of things, is there a noise with it too? Could be anything from timing, gaskets, misfiring even an engine mount.

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel
Draigflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 05:02 AM   #3
Registered Member

First step would be to inspect the engine and transmission mounts. The rubber inserts can disintegrate, bolts can break, etc.
2008 Mustang Bullitt #5389
2002 MINI Cooper S
2000 Roush Cougar V6
B3NN3TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 05:47 AM   #4
Registered Member