Hey everyone! - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 03-26-2006, 05:44 PM   #1
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to mtbiker278
Hey everyone!

Cool site you guys have here. I've been reading through a whole lot of posts and found more information than I ever thought was available. I particularly enjoyed the acetone testing/ discussion. I can't say that I'd ever use the stuff, but it's an interesting proposal.

Anywho, I'm a recent college grad working in a genetics lab, which has a variety of issues with it. One, I'm still "poor" and gas is expensive in the DC area. Two, I have to drive 30 miles to get to work since I still live at my parents house because I'm "poor". I say "poor" because I'm not really poor, I just can't afford to get out of my house, particularly since I bought a new car. I will say I miss my 2001 civic, but in terms of creature comforts and such the 2006 civic is the best car I've driven. I will conceed if I was smart I'd buy a beat up used CRX or something, but I plan on driving this car into the dirt, which should hopefully last me 200K miles.

I find some of the modifications on your cars to be ingenius. Particularly the WAI, the "catch-can", and lowering your cars for areodynamics. Unfortunately, I'm hesitant to do any of that to my car since it's new (with the exception of maybe lowering it). As of now, I'm getting around 34 MPG on my civic. DC traffic tends to be the main culprit for my loss in fuel economy, plus the whole EPA over estimating. I guess what I'm really looking for is suggestions on how to increase fuel economy without voiding my warranty. So far I've looked at getting the scan gauge to alter my driving style, switching to a better synthetic oil(possibly royal purple which I hear has "Moly" in it), putting on an intake/exhuast(but your results are still out on whether or not this actually helps), and maybe switching to iridium sparkplugs(also inconclusive).