Hey! Tryna get more MPG's for my Buick - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 07-05-2009, 11:23 PM   #1
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to MTUboi86
Hey! Tryna get more MPG's for my Buick

Hello all!
Just thought I'd make my first post on this site.
I've been reading through several posts for the last few hours (yea... it's summer, and I'm a college student... nothing better to do).

I'm going on a very long trip in two weeks, and I'm trying to get ideas to make my car more aerodynamic (very cheaply) and other suggestions. Even though I average 30-32mpg highway with 4 average-sized adults and the trunk packed completely full (which I think is pretty dang good), I'm trying to improve it and save some money. I'm a college student... so I need to save everywhere I can.

Expecting to spend about $500 on this trip in gas, over-estimating that price by calculating with 28mpg... so I'd love to hear any ideas you would have specifically for my car. The front end... look at the pictures. How can I rig something up to the front to increase areo?

That's all for now, I suppose.

MTUboi86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 04:31 AM   #2
Registered Member

Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Welcome.

How ugly are you willing to go with your aero mods?

Old 07-06-2009, 06:46 AM   #3
Site Team / Moderator

A Buick Century... My mom had a 97 Century wagon years ago. Nice little cars. I think the only aero mods that will make any difference are blocking off the wheelwells, a kammback made out of plexiglass mounted on the rear window, and maybe a partial grille block. I would not waste time on an air dam extension, the car is already low enough to the ground.

Now as I digress, and make a reference that few will get, even with some help from youtube...

Do you ever say "To the Orgazmobile!"?

[yt]deZcZZv6mSA[/yt]