Hi, from Covington, KY - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 01-12-2008, 10:12 PM   #1
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to lamebums
Hi, from Covington, KY

It's right across the river from Cincinnati, Ohio (just for reference).

I'm currently majoring in Economics (second year), and like most students, I'm broke as hell. In response...well, I'm trying to wring as many miles per gallon as possible out of the car because hey, $3 a gallon is expensive.

I currently drive a 2000 Toyota Echo, manual, everything's stock on the car. I have a ScanGauge coming in the mail and I'm going to inflate my tires to 45psi when I get around to it (Max says 44, and I'm afraid of going any further, a buddy of mine had a blowout when inflating a cheap tire to 50psi).

My driving habits include going no more than 60-65, drafting behind semi's, not taking off like a jackrabbit, driving as if I had no brakes, among others. I just had the oil changed from 10W-30 to 5W-30. I am thrashing the EPA sticker mileage, but that's nothing. If I could get 10,000 MPG, I'd do it.

The lion's share of my driving comes from going to class and back, daily, about 13 miles or so on this highway. (Ft. Mitchell to NKU, if any local guy wants to be specific)

Meet any gas saver's nemesis, I-275:

That's about 11 out of those 13 miles right there. The other two is spent driving in circles looking for parking. Doesn't take a genius to say that would put a dent in anyone's MPG, unfortunately.

How can I hypermile with that? FAS downhill when possible/safe, but uphill is a killer.

(I'm too lazy to keep track of it in one more place.)
lamebums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 10:15 PM   #2
Registered Member

A bit more about myself: