Hi um, I am brand new to hypermilling. - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 05-11-2008, 09:28 PM   #1
Registered Member

Send a message via MSN to CryingStreetRacer Send a message via Yahoo to CryingStreetRacer
Hi um, I am brand new to hypermilling.

Hi. I am a young person, it will probably show. I know a little bit about cars. I have a 1996 volvo 960 wagon. It gets about 18-22 mpg pending my habits. I like to drive it as fast as it will go. But I simply cannot afford to pay the gas my volvo consumes while I race it. It is a HEAVY car. I have never been caught racing, and I have lost one race out of 30. Everyone is different, and I expect to be treated somewhat hostile for a while here because of my racing addiction, yes I say addiction. I want to learn how to stretch my gas as far as it will go, I don't care how. I am mechanicly inclined, not linguisticly. I don't know a whole lot about cars, but I am very easy to teach.

True Fact: When I learned that there was an entire online community dedicated to gas savings, I almost cried. Gas is a real problem now, and it's about time someone did something about it. And I salute every single one of you.

Old 05-11-2008, 09:44 PM   #2
Registered Member

first things first, buy a more fuel efficient car. something like a civic or a corolla. im assuming that your still in high school since you said that your young?

stop street racing, it can kill someone and is very dangerous. ive been there and done that, its not a smart thing to do. if you like to race, take it to a track. I had a friend in high school who got caught racing, and it took alot of money for that mistake

civic94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 10:12 PM   #3
Registered Member

Send a message via MSN to CryingStreetRacer Send a message via Yahoo to CryingStreetRacer
I am switching from a wagon to a sedan, and upping the year one. it gets better FE(by up to 10 miles per gallon CITY alone.).