Just joined, love the site - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 09-14-2009, 07:25 AM   #1
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_timely
Just joined, love the site

Hey im a college student from Burlington VT. I drive a 96 toyota tercel; which after some pointers from you guys i have gotten as high as 55 mpg (from what i found online it usually gets low thirties)
I am interested in making some aerodynamic mods and possibly some more engine mods(have already removed power steering and AC)
Any advice on how to make a front air dam etc would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks - Timely

GasSavers_timely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:36 AM   #2
Registered Member

With the snow we get here, I wonder how low you could make an air dam. Have you considered a belly pan?

Main Entry: co de pen dence - see codependency
co de pen den cy
Pronunciation: \kō-di-ˈpen-dən(t)-sē\
Function: noun
Date: 1979

: a psychological condition or a relationship in which a person is controlled or manipulated by another who is affected with a pathological condition (as an addiction to alcohol or heroin) ; broadly : dependence on the needs of or control by another
GasSavers_maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:38 AM   #3
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to dkjones96
How did you remove the power steering? Just disconnect the pump or did you remove the unit completely?

Oh, and welcome!
Old 09-14-2009, 07:51 AM   #4
Site Team / Moderator

I guess in Vermont you could get away with it, but here in Virginia I would never consider removing my a/c. I make sure the a/c works in all of my vehicles.

Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 07:41 AM   #5
Registered Member

Thanks for the responses :)

I removed the unit, pipes and all from the vehicle for both the power steering and the AC. They were being run by the same belt so i was able to get rid of that belt altogether