New Guy - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 01-20-2011, 12:38 PM   #1
Registered Member

New Guy

Hey everyone. I was recommend to join up over here by a friend, (here's a hint, he's a cow) to basically provide my input and results. I'm not the hypermiling type, but I do like my vehicles to be as efficient as possible. I have some background in aeronautics from a previous job, but now mostly stick to new product design and prototyping. Currently in my garage are two vehicles, one being an '88 Porsche 944 Turbo that currently has a blown headgasket, and an '89 Chevrolet Silverado that I daily drive. In my spare time I'm always tinkering with one or the other.

Currently the truck gets driven 145 miles per day during the week, and more often than not several hundred miles on the weekends. I've considered the idea of buying something newer and better on fuel, but a more pressing concern is buying a home, so that takes precedent over a shiny new car. The truck is essentially a stock 2-door, shortbed two wheel drive. Right now it's lowered 3/5 and has a stock drivetrain. The only modifications are a late model PCM controlling the engine (5.7L throttle body-injected v8), which is running a GM lean-cruise bin that was never used in the States for emissions reasons. It has a few other components that came from late model vehicles. (exhaust, transmission, etc)