Squeezing out every Nickle - 2000 Honda Civic Auto - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuelly Community Support > Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 03-04-2008, 12:45 PM   #1
Registered Member

Send a message via Yahoo to Scott_in_Tulsa
Thumbs up Squeezing out every Nickle - 2000 Honda Civic Auto

Greetings to the group! I am new to GasSavers but have already gained a lot of insight from reading the articles and past Forum responses and topics.

Two months ago, I traded off my 2002 Chevy Impala 6 cyl auto for a 2000 Honda Civic Coupe EX auto. The main reason was to get a vehicle I could have paid off quickly (actually paid it off this week) and be able to run for several years with excellent gas mileage.

With my Impala, I was able to average 28.3 mpg with 90% highway driving. When I say highway, I basically mean interstate where you average 70 mph just to keep up with the flow of traffic.

Right now, I am averaging between 34 and 35 mpg with my Honda. I think that will continue to improve as the weather warms up and I don't have to run the heater and defrost so much. The greatest change I have made to improve fuel efficiency is to learn how to properly do a neutral coast with a running engine. I have some good straight stretches of road that is a gradual decline. I can usually get in a count of 10 before I have to kick it in drive and accelerate to maintain momentum.

With the neutral coast, I generally drop my RPMs from 2000 RPMs in drive with my foot off the gas to around 800 - 1000 RPMs in neutral. So far, the benefit is about a 2 mpg improvement in my fuel efficiency.

I would guess that I am only able to coast about 10% of the time. The rest of the time, I try to keep my average speed at 68 mph or less with my RPMs below 2800 (preferably around 2500).