Here's A Challenge for Ya - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 03-01-2010, 05:46 AM   #1
Registered Member

Here's A Challenge for Ya

Hey y'all, I got a 1994 Chevy Suburban weighing in at 6500lbs. It has a 350 V8 5.7L engine, and a stock 4spd. .70 4th gear O/D transmission. 3.42 differential gears (looking for 4.10). I live in the mountains/hills of PA. currently im getting 10 city and 15 highway roughly. selling the truck is not an option (live on a farm, landscaper, handyman) the truck is a necessary tool. but I really want to get better MPG. any tips please? I want to keep the truck functional as well. and Im a college student, so money is tight. thanks!

countryboy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 05:57 AM   #2
Registered Member

Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Welcome. There's a few of us here with similar vehicles. Jay has a 1998 GMC Sierra 1500 and I have a 2002. Is 6500 pounds the GVWR of your truck or the curb weight? If that's the curb weight it must be a 2500 or 3500.

Mainly we get some decent FE (fuel economy) from adjusting our driving techniques. There are few modifications that can help and almost none that will ever pay for themselves. The first and easiest you can start with is tire inflation. GM probably specified 35psi if it's a 1500. You can definitely go way higher than that without causing a rough ride, bad handling, or bad tire wear. However, on the farm's mud higher pressure would make it more likely to get stuck.

After that it's all about driving style. You may want to keep your 3.42 gears. Putting in new gears is expensive even if you DIY; you may or may not save gas at all, but they almost certainly won't pay off. Usually taller gears will save gas but in your case, living in the mountains, it could go either way.

Old 03-01-2010, 06:45 AM   #3
Site Team