Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 05-22-2008, 08:04 PM   #1
Registered Member

Interpret my O2 readings,, 95 VX

OKOK,,,

here we go...

I read the thread,, VX Lean burn monitor.... and had to have it.... Note I am new to all of this, but I am good both electrical and mechanical... so dont hesisitate to shoot me some crazy ideas to try...

Well, wanting to know if my newly acquired VX was going into lean burn mode, and after reading that thread, I headed to harbor freight and picked up 2 digital meters for a grand total of $6.52... and went home armed with my new knowledge.... oh and on the way home my CE light came on,, code 48... another reason for wanting the meters.....

Now, I get home and rip out the ecu,, solder on some wires to pins d22/d14 and also d14/d16, figured monitoring both is better than just one.... and its dark outside, soldering with a flash light... haha,,, ok,, remounted the ecu,,, slipped the meters into the cup holders, hooked them up,, set them for DC volts in the lowest range,, 20v.. that sucks about these,, would be nice if they had like a 5v range so it would be a bit more accurate... OH and before anyone asks,, I verified the readings with these meters to that of my Fluke, and all were within .02 volts of each other....

OK,,,,, So the ecu is free of codes now that it has been disconnected while I soldered.... I fire it up, point my flashlight at the meters and head down the road.....

now on to my readings.......

meter 1 is connected between ground and d14
meter 2 is connected between d14 and d16

all readings at operating temp....

At Idle,,,

2.95-3.08v meter 1
.38 - .42v meter 2(pump cell) ( yes positive voltage )

So it would seem to me that at idle I am in lean burn mode right there, or at least at the very edge of it... Is this wierd or normal?