New Member, lots of questions! - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 02-09-2008, 09:55 AM   #1
Registered Member

New Member, lots of questions!

Hey folks, I've been browsing on here for a few months, but decided to join to see if I can help with some info. I'm a mechanic for Toyota, and I am one of the most frugal people you'll ever meet. I recycle my beer/soda cans, as well as scrap metal that I come across at work. People might say I'm an environmentalist, but I'm really just trying to get some extra money in my wallet. This is the only reason why I want to get more MPG's out of my car.

Anyways, I have a 94 Civic DX coupe. I bought it for $300 and put another $500 in it to get it road worthy, solely for the purpose of beating out my 04 Chevy Silverado in MPG. I have a few questions though:

Will adding a ricey aftermarket intake improve MPG? What about an aftermarket exhaust manifold?

I recently purchased a carbon fiber hood for my Civic for $100, but it needs some repair with some fiberglass. I figured the weight savings could net some MPG increase. Also thinking about carbon fiber fenders, and a carbon fiber trunk lid. I also bought some 14" wheels from a Civic HX which weigh about 11 lbs. each. Took out everything from the trunk (spare tire, fiberboard cover, jack, etc.) Removed the rear speakers, and I run synthetic oil to reduce friction.

So is there any obvious stuff I'm missing? My transmission is bad, it pops out of gear all the time, and leaks oil onto the clutch which causes it to slip, so I'm in search of a VX 5 speed to throw in. Local junkyards have them for $225, but I'd like to find a trans/engine combo from some 18 year old racer kid for $300. By now, they might all be scrapped.

jasonty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 11:20 AM   #2
Registered Member

Hi, Welcome