Oil viscosity - more difference than I would have thought - Page 5 - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 08-30-2010, 10:35 AM   #41
Registered Member

Re: Oil viscosity - more difference than I would have thought

Quote:
Originally Posted by add|ct View Post
...which doesn't make any sense. Isn't 0w-30 better than 0w-20 if your car is supposed to take 30?
Sorry, I was brain dead.

Old 08-30-2010, 01:37 PM   #42
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by theholycow View Post
I have no doubt that you have experience showing long-term survival of engines with synthetic, but what experience do you have of sub-par performance from dinosaur juice when used as directed?
w/ ya HC. i like the convenience of only changing my oil once/year. i will not try it w/ dino oil. the heat and humidity in florida really tax an oil, besides if my car overheats, the synthetic will protect better. happened to me a few times, and i've NEVER changed the oil immediately following that type of incident.

and of course you know about start-ups--better, quicker lube. also, you guys might try this...check your oil hot w/ amsoil(not sure if it will work w/ other synthetics) vs conventional. i wouldn't have believed it if i didn't see it myself...

a mechanic claimed that amsoil would cling to hot metal longer than conventional oil. well, i forgot about those words over time. so, one day i checked my oil hot, but after several minutes of being home. it was 1/2 qt low. to my dismay, i didn't have any oil to top off w/. my next trip out, i bought some oil, but got preoccupied w/ something else. when i realized, i bought oil the next morning, i decided to open and fill the crankcase. well, when i checked the dipstick cold, IT SHOWED FULL!