Dual Point Fuel Injection to Multi Point Fuel Injection - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Tech, Troubleshooting and Repair > Experiments, Modifications and DIY
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 09-02-2005, 12:38 PM   #1
Driving on E

Dual Point Fuel Injection to Multi Point Fuel Injection

I am a Honda Driver. Some of the Honda made in the late 80s/early 90s ran on Dual Point Fuel Injection (DPFI). The later ones all ran on Multi Point Fuel Injection (MPFI). The difference is simple. On DPFI there are two fuel injectors for the four cylinders. On MPFI there are four injectors for the four cylinders.

The cars that came with MPFI were the SI models and the HF models. The DX models call came with DPFI.

I began asking people a few months ago about the potential benefits of upgrading my DPFI engine to MPFI. The upgrade only costs about $100 if you pull the parts from the junkyard yourself. Many people said that the benefits would benefit fuel economy, and others said it would hurt it.

Those who said it would help said it is because the ECU (car's computer) will be able to control just the right amount of gas for each cylinder, thus not wasting gas. Others said it would hurt fuel economy because the extra horsepower gains caused by this upgrade. With conflicting answers, i feel it appropriate to find out ourselves.

I propose that we measure the benefits of switching a DPFI car to MPFI.

This study requires 5 volunteers. Those volunteers must read guidelines for conducting a proper experiment explained on this website. This can be found here: http://www.gassavers.org/node/3

Reply to this thread if you are interested in participating in this experiment. This is also where you will post your final results.

Matt

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 01:47 PM   #2
*shrug*

mpg vs. speed - metro graph