Wagon aero trials - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 05-05-2008, 09:21 AM   #1
Registered Member

Wagon aero trials

Update: wool tuft pics and video in the Aero section here:
http://www.gassavers.org/showthread.php?t=7519

Long story short, Geo's dead, and I'm driving my Volvo wagon everyday now. And using more gas. I read a thread a couple days ago that had a request for some info on the aero effects of a wagon with the sunroof up vs down. I haven't seen anything pop up yet, so I decided to get started on it. Anyone interested in results can watch my gas logs.

(I'm young here, but not a total noob. My old user name was only synonymous with the Geo which is gone, so I've been reborn so to speak)

Old 05-06-2008, 04:21 AM   #2
Registered Member

Tilting the sunroof up will aid in reducing the low pressure area just behind the top of the windshield. This can have an effect on reducing the turbulence on top. With roof rails this 'filling in the vacuum' may or may not be a desired result.
Tipping up the sunroof aids in producing air flow inside the cabin which can mean allowing reduction in fan speed.
Leaving any sun shade nearly closed will limit solar gain in summer, reducing air flow 'wind-chill' requirements for occupant comfort.
But when it's hot...close the roof, close the shade, fire up the A/C!

and be glad that the "box-it-came-in" square shape of Volvos went out with the 700 series. My 760 GLE with the odd-fire B28 V6, not the later even-firing B280F, got an average of 20 mpg (with an 11 gallon tank!) Cheap to fill, but the frequency....!

Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 04:53 AM   #3
Registered Member

Depending on the particular wagon and particular position and angle of the sunroof, there is a possibility that the airflow may take a more curved path over the roof, resulting in less base drag at the rear. What works on one, might not work on a different one.