Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Fuelly Web Support and Community News (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f2/)
-   -   Allow MPG option to help with partial fillups (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f2/allow-mpg-option-to-help-with-partial-fillups-1064.html)

jmurtari 06-22-2013 11:14 PM

Allow MPG option to help with partial fillups

I sometimes work in New Jersey where people aren't allowed to pump their own gas. The attendants hurry and you can easily be a gallon or more low. I live in NY, and every other fill up I can actually fill the tank.

I was disappointed that you don't calculate a graph MPG entry after the complete fill. I saw the other postings and your policy. I'm a web/database programmer, I wish you'd add a vehicle option to: calculate MPG on first complete fill after partial -- it would make things a lot easier.

Thanks.

andyrobo 06-23-2013 08:50 AM

Can you explain how the logic/math you are suggesting would work? For example, how would we know how many gallons and miles to use in the calculations?

The only way I can this of this might work would be as follows:

Miles since last full fill-up/(partial fill-up gallons + next full fill-up gallons)

I think above might work but obviously we would not be able to calculate an exact per fill-up MPG. We could simply divide by two and give you the average.

Does anyone see anything wrong with this suggest math?

waterboysh 06-24-2013 12:20 AM

I think all hes asking is lets say you have 5 fillups that look like this

1) full fillup. 300 miles 10 gallons = 30mpg

2) partial fillup. 100 miles 1 gallon = ?mpg

3) partial fillup. 150 miles 1.5 gallon = ?mpg

4) full fillup. 50 miles 7.5 gallons = ?mpg

5) full fillup. 200 miles 8 gallons = 25mpg