Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Maintenance and Repair (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f10/)
-   -   Very low MPG with 01 Malibu (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f10/very-low-mpg-with-01-malibu-12087.html)

kracka 11-06-2009 06:24 PM

Very low MPG with 01 Malibu

Hello all, I have been looking around at forums and thought this one seemed like everyone knows what their talking about, and for my first post, I have a question that has been bugging me for a while.

My 2001 Chevy Malibu is getting about 13MPG city, and about 18MPG highway. I drive normal, and try my best for fuel economy. The car has 135k and a 3100 V6 This problem is not satisfactory since I commute 60 miles a day.

Im a noob seeking help, what can be wrong? Is it able to be fixed? I am not engine savvy. Thanks!

-Dan

GasSavers_BEEF 11-06-2009 06:56 PM

you definitely have a problem. you should be getting 18/26/21 (city/hwy/combined)

have you done maintenance stuff? plugs, wires, clean intake, clean EGR (if it has one), maybe just replace o2 sensor.

is it spitting any codes?

BTW, welcome to the site.

GasSavers_Pete 11-06-2009 07:48 PM

Welcome from me as well.

Start with the basic stuff...tyre pressures , take all the junk out of the trunk , etc , etc.
Have a look through the 201 tips to save gas at the top of the screen and see how many you can tick off the list.

Post back what you find and there will be someone ready and willing to help you start your hypermiler journey.

Cheers , Pete.

kracka 11-06-2009 08:49 PM

I replaced the oil with 5w30 synthetic oil less than 1k miles ago, I don't even remember when the plugs were replaced, or anything else for that matter. The tire PSI is almost at the maximum rating. A friend of mine who owns the 2000 malibu tells me he is getting about 30 mpg.

edit: the car is not giving any codes.

Maybe I just need a tune up?

-Dan

Jay2TheRescue 11-06-2009 09:34 PM