Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   People Powered (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f19/)
-   -   I want to start riding my bike to work.... (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f19/i-want-to-start-riding-my-bike-to-work-12130.html)

mochabuzz 11-21-2009 01:20 PM

I want to start riding my bike to work....

I've been wanting to do this for a few months now... but i think it would be a good idea for me to ride my bike to work (school) one day a week. I only live 6 miles from work & i think that it would be a gr8 idea... but i haven't gotten off my lazy butt & done it yet. I am a high school teacher & live on the coast of San Diego (north county).... so i can actually ride a bike during the wintertime b/c of the moderate climate. Does anyone on this forum ride their bike to work? How's it working for you? How often do you do it? Just wondering... I really love this forum.... A lot of bright minds here.
-MB

bowtieguy 11-21-2009 02:45 PM

if it works for you, great! my concern(not fear) for ridding a bike or walking more was validated yet again...orlando was again ranked THE #1 most dangerous city in America in regard to pedestrian injuries/deaths from motor vehicles.

in addition, i've had countless friends/co-workers injured on bikes, both motor and not.

Jay2TheRescue 11-21-2009 04:48 PM

Probably has something to do with lots of out of towners driving around, not paying attention, only thinking of when they can visit the giant rat.

GasSavers_JoeBob 11-21-2009 07:55 PM

If I could, I'd ride my bike to work...problem is, work is about 50 miles away. Kind of a long bike ride. I DID ride my bike to work back in the late '70s/early '80s sometimes...commute was only about 10-15 miles. And I lived in the San Gabriel Valley in Southern California, much more temperate climate than the High Desert. Also, I was 30 years younger. I do have at least one co-worker that rides his bike in nice weather.

bowtieguy 11-22-2009 03:41 AM

Quote: