Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Automotive News, Articles and Products (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f16/)
-   -   Meet the Man Who Could End Global Warming (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f16/meet-the-man-who-could-end-global-warming-12392.html)

Jay2TheRescue 02-18-2010 02:34 PM

Meet the Man Who Could End Global Warming

https://www.esquire.com/features/best...-disposal-1209

Jay2TheRescue 02-18-2010 05:03 PM

Its an interesting concept. Build a reactor that runs safely on nuclear waste, and renders it inert in the process. No more storing nuclear waste for a millennium, just use it up.

GasSavers_JoeBob 02-18-2010 06:40 PM

Nuclear waste has been, for me, the big problem with nuclear power. Get rid of the waste problem, happy days.

zero_gravity 02-23-2010 06:28 PM

i heard about this quite a while ago, and very excited about it! i worked in the nuclear industry for almost 4 years and want to get back into it, so no surprise there.

its actually a very sound concept, 'burning' the waste efficiently only requires a reconfiguration of the reactor and fuel bundles but thats not practical in large plants. however this idea is a stroke of genius...large supply of clean burning power while reducing our waste by a massive amount! love it already.

also ive suffered with asthma/allergies all my life so anything that gets rid of coal burning is wonderful to me. i've had days in the heat of summer where i can't go outside for long because of the smog - can't bloody well breathe right.

also for you guys that want to see electric cars a big problem has always been where do we get enough electricity for that....this answers that question rather nicely.

theholycow 02-24-2010 02:51 AM