Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   Honda Accord 1999-2000 Type R tips please,... (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/honda-accord-1999-2000-type-r-tips-please-12618.html)

GasSavers_Mack 05-12-2010 04:22 AM

Honda Accord 1999-2000 Type R tips please,...

Hi,
I am new to both this forum and driving. I am using my brothers old car, Honda Accord Type R 1999-2000. The following link shows a small pic of the car i found on the internet:

https://www.reviewcentre.com/review109837.html

Mine's exactly the same, even the color. Its got about 153K on it and I heard that its a gas guzzler. The last time i filled the tank, i set that led thing to zero, probably i will have some idea about the mileage when i am done with the tank. Any reasonable tips would be helpful guyz.

FYI, I live in Al Ain, U.A.E.

Thanks

theholycow 05-12-2010 05:13 AM

Welcome to the forum.

If you are new to driving, now is not the time to pay too much attention to saving fuel. You should give all your attention to the road until you have 50,000 miles of practice, IMO.

For now, you can:
- Make sure the tires are well-inflated; you may even experiment with exceeding Honda's requirement (but don't exceed the tire's maximum, which is marked on the tire itself).
- Don't idle unnecessarily. When you're waiting for someone to come out of Burger King, shut it off.
- Keep your speed down. This will not only save gas, but it's safer, and it will save you from getting speeding tickets that could result in your new license getting revoked or your insurance getting even more expensive (I don't know how licensing and insurance are set up in U.A.E.).

If it's got a manual transmission:
- Don't cruise in a lower gear than necessary.
- Shift at lower RPM.

GasSavers_Mack 05-12-2010 08:09 AM

Thanks for the reply.

Two questions: