Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   Bigger 4 cyl or small V6 for highway and hauling (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/bigger-4-cyl-or-small-v6-for-highway-and-hauling-13137.html)

Guitarzan 12-19-2010 05:43 PM

Bigger 4 cyl or small V6 for highway and hauling

Hoping to get some opinions on what my best options would be. Originally I was thinking about a Honda Civic or something about that size. (Cavalier, Corolla...) But I'm wondering if I'd be better off with a car the next size up (Accord, Malibu...) with a larger engine to deal with weight. I'm a musician and carry about 400 lbs of extra gear around with me during trips. I can, and prefer, to fit everything in a 4 door car. Most all my trips are 95% or more highway driving, on 70 mph speed zones. I'm a pretty big guy at 6'1", 245. Plus, sometimes one of the other band members rides with me.

So, my questions are: 1) Would the bigger car/engine get equally as good of MPG with the extra weight figured in? 2) Would the extra weight put excessive wear on a smaller car/engine, and would the larger last longer.

Being a bigger guy the mid-size car would be more comfortable on long trips. But if the smaller car will get 8-10 mpg better I'll deal with less leg room. If the extra weight brings the mpg down to almost equal, I'll do with the bigger car.

benfrogg 12-19-2010 06:08 PM

Re: Bigger 4 cyl or small V6 for highway and hauling

Hey-
I play music for a living and carry 200 pounds of drums around much of the time. I also carry one passenger during some of that driving. I have a Civic VX (see gas log) that averages over 50mpg. I've done mods, changed my driving habits, etc. I've had tanks over 60mpg. I don't carry the drums all week unless it's summer. I gig 3 times a week during the winter, more often during the summer.

What are you carrying that is 400 pounds? It really depends on how much space you need.